Hampshire v Lancashire
County Championship 1972
VenueDean Park, Bournemouth on 26th, 28th, 29th August 1972 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossLancashire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsHampshire 8 (Batting 6, Bowling 2); Lancashire 5 (Batting 2, Bowling 3)
UmpiresF Jakeman, AGT Whitehead
Close of play day 1Hampshire (1) 1/0 (Richards 0*, Greenidge 0*; 2 overs)
Close of play day 2Lancashire (2) 32/0 (D Lloyd 12*, Pilling 20*)

Lancashire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
D Lloydc Sainsbury b Herman116     
H Pillingc Stephenson b Rice30     
FC Hayesrun out51     
CH Lloydb Sainsbury43     
J Sullivanlbw b O'Sullivan0     
DP Hughesc Greenidge b O'Sullivan2     
*JD Bondb O'Sullivan0     
J Simmonsc Turner b Sainsbury11     
K Shuttleworthnot out26     
+K Goodwinc Richards b O'Sullivan4     
PG Leec Sainsbury b Herman8     
Extras(4 lb, 5 nb, 1 w)10
Total(all out, 119.3 overs)301
Fall of wickets:
1-59, 2-203, 3-206, 4-210, 5-222, 6-224, 7-253, 8-270, 9-275, 10-301 (119.3 ov)
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jesty6   1110--
Rice20   6511--
Sainsbury36   12592--
O'Sullivan37   101164--
Richards5   2140--

Hampshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BA Richardsc D Lloyd b Shuttleworth23     
CG Greenidgec and b Hughes85     
DR Turnerc Hughes b Sullivan20     
RE Marshallc Goodwin b Hughes46     
RV Lewislbw b Lee4     
*PJ Sainsburyb Hughes7     
TE Jestyb Shuttleworth77     
+GR Stephensonb Shuttleworth36     
JM Ricerun out0     
DR O'Sullivannot out0     
RS Hermanb Shuttleworth4     
Extras(5 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)7
Total(all out, 89.1 overs)309
Fall of wickets:
1-42, 2-90, 3-160, 4-175, 5-181, 6-192, 7-301, 8-304, 9-305, 10-309 (89.1 ov)
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hughes26   3993--
Lee15   1441--
Sullivan12   2411--
Simmons14   4560--

Lancashire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
D Lloydst Stephenson b O'Sullivan12     
H Pillingb Sainsbury94     
FC Hayesc Stephenson b Rice1     
CH Lloydlbw b Rice22     
J Sullivannot out81     
DP Hughesb Sainsbury24     
J Simmonsnot out4     
*JD Bonddid not bat      
K Shuttleworthdid not bat      
+K Goodwindid not bat      
PG Leedid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 5 nb)9
Total(5 wickets, declared, 85 overs)247
Fall of wickets:
1-40, 2-43, 3-80, 4-181, 5-241
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Herman13   3430--
Rice20   5472--
Sainsbury22   9412--
O'Sullivan30   91071--

Hampshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BA Richardsc Bond b Simmons83     
CG Greenidgec Bond b Lee2     
DR Turnerc Hughes b CH Lloyd1     
RE Marshallc Bond b Hughes63     
TE Jestyc D Lloyd b Simmons1     
RV Lewisb Hughes0     
*PJ Sainsburynot out16     
+GR Stephensonb Simmons0     
JM Ricec Bond b D Lloyd7     
DR O'Sullivannot out4     
RS Hermandid not bat      
Extras(5 lb, 1 nb)6
Total(8 wickets, 53 overs)183
Fall of wickets:
1-8, 2-19, 3-121, 4-126, 5-126, 6-162, 7-162, 8-171
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hughes18   4702--
Lee5   1121--
Simmons21   7823--
D Lloyd5   361--
CH Lloyd4   071--

--> D Lloyd (1) passed 7000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 63
--> FC Hayes (1) passed 1500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 26
--> RE Marshall (1) passed 35500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 18
--> H Pilling (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 36
--> H Pilling (2) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 79
--> J Sullivan (2) passed his previous highest score of 80 in first-class matches
--> J Sullivan (2) passed his previous highest score of 80 in County Championship matches
--> RS Herman reached 250 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Lancashire first innings
--> DP Hughes reached 250 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Hampshire first innings
--> DP Hughes reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when taking his 2nd wicket in the Hampshire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive