Victoria v Marylebone Cricket Club
Marylebone Cricket Club in Australia and New Zealand 1970/71
VenueMelbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne on 6th, 7th, 8th, 9th November 1970 (4-day match)
Balls per over8
TossVictoria won the toss and decided to field
ResultVictoria won by 6 wickets
UmpiresRT Figgis, WJ Smyth
ScorersBW Bright (Victoria), MP Ringham (Marylebone Cricket Club)
Close of play day 1Victoria (1) 38/1 (Stackpole 16*, Redpath 21*)
Close of play day 2Victoria (1) 304/8d
Close of play day 3Marylebone Cricket Club (2) 268/4 (Cowdrey 73*, Illingworth 21*)

Marylebone Cricket Club first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
G Boycottc Redpath b Thomson4     
BW Luckhurstrun out (Sieler->Jordon)21     
JH Edrichc sub (KH Eastwood) b Watson44     
MC Cowdreyc Sieler b Thomson0     
JH Hampshirec Stackpole b Thomson0     
*R Illingworthc Jordon b Thomson22     
+APE Knottnot out15     
JA Snowc Stackpole b Thomson5     
DL Underwoodc Redpath b Thomson0     
K Shuttleworthb Stackpole12     
A Wardrun out (Lawry->Jordon)6     
Extras(1 b, 3 lb, 8 nb, 1 w)13
Total(all out, 260 minutes, 60.2 overs)142
Fall of wickets:
1-16, 2-34, 3-43, 4-43, 5-82, 6-102, 7-117, 8-119, 9-134, 10-142 (60.2 ov)
Victoria bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Thomson24   4806-5
Connolly9   570-3
Watson9   4191--
Stackpole17   72011-

Victoria first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*WM Lawryb Snow0     
KR Stackpolelbw b Snow22     
IR Redpathrun out (Snow)68     
AP Sheahanrun out (Hampshire)71     
WJ Scholesb Underwood25     
PLA Bedfordc Hampshire b Shuttleworth44     
GD Watsonc Underwood b Illingworth17     
AJ Sielernot out24     
+RC Jordonc Knott b Ward13     
AN Connollydid not bat      
AL Thomsondid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 5 lb, 13 nb, 1 w)20
Total(8 wickets, declared, 390 minutes, 76.5 overs)304
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-52, 3-141, 4-187, 5-212, 6-241, 7-273, 8-304 (76.5 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Snow15   239214
Shuttleworth15   0681-4
Underwood20   3561-3
Illingworth12   1481--

Marylebone Cricket Club second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
G Boycottc Jordon b Thomson40     
BW Luckhurstc Jordon b Thomson40     
JH Edrichb Bedford42     
JH Hampshireb Sieler31     
MC Cowdreyc Redpath b Thomson101     
*R Illingworthb Connolly24     
+APE Knottc Jordon b Sieler29     
JA Snowlbw b Sieler2     
DL Underwoodb Sieler0     
K Shuttleworthnot out2     
A Wardc and b Bedford1     
Extras(6 b, 2 lb, 21 nb)29
Total(all out, 453 minutes, 104.2 overs)341
Fall of wickets:
1-79, 2-94, 3-166, 4-217, 5-276, 6-327, 7-333, 8-337, 9-337, 10-341 (104.2 ov)
Victoria bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Thomson32   41013-5
Connolly24   3811-16
Watson6   0180--
Sieler17   4284--

Victoria second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*WM Lawryb Illingworth38     
IR Redpathc Shuttleworth b Illingworth57     
AP Sheahannot out58     
WJ Scholesb Ward5     
PLA Bedfordc Luckhurst b Ward1     
GD Watsonnot out5     
KR Stackpoledid not bat      
AJ Sielerdid not bat      
+RC Jordondid not bat      
AN Connollydid not bat      
AL Thomsondid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 5 lb, 7 nb)16
Total(4 wickets, 188 minutes, 38.4 overs)180
Fall of wickets:
1-77, 2-125, 3-149, 4-153
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Ward8   0252-1
Shuttleworth6   1350-1
Illingworth10   0502-1
Underwood13   1450-4
Hampshire1   080--

--> IR Redpath (2) passed 9500 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 3
--> DL Underwood made his debut in Australia in First-Class matches
--> A Ward made his debut in Australia in First-Class matches
--> BW Luckhurst made his debut in Australia in First-Class matches
--> K Shuttleworth made his debut in Australia in First-Class matches
--> AL Thomson reached 100 wickets in First-Class matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Marylebone Cricket Club first innings
--> AJ Sieler achieved his best innings bowling analysis in First-Class matches in the Marylebone Cricket Club second innings (previous best was 3-15)

12th Men: KH Eastwood (Vic) and KWR Fletcher (MCC)
Crowds: 6391, 15340, 13449, 4187. Total: 39,367. Receipts: $18,417





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive