New South Wales v Victoria
Sheffield Shield 1961/62
VenueSydney Cricket Ground, Sydney on 26th, 27th, 29th, 30th January 1962 (4-day match)
Balls per over8
TossVictoria won the toss and decided to bat
ResultNew South Wales won by 10 wickets
PointsNew South Wales 10; Victoria 0
UmpiresFT Tilley, EF Wykes
Close of play day 1Victoria (1) 227/3 (Potter 30*, Cowper 16*)
Close of play day 2New South Wales (1) 173/2 (Simpson 76*, Misson 3*)
Close of play day 3Victoria (2) 112/3 (Lawry 38*, Crompton 27*)

Victoria first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*WM Lawryc Misson b Simpson97     
DJ Andersonb Davidson0     
RW Furlongc and b Martin82     
J Potterc Benaud b Davidson53     
RM Cowpernot out64     
CN Cromptonc Ford b Simpson2     
+RC Jordonc Ford b Martin3     
CEJ Guestst Ford b Martin5     
LF Klinec Davidson b Simpson5     
I Meckiffrun out (Thomas->Ford)6     
RA Gauntc and b Martin0     
Extras(3 b, 1 lb)4
Total(all out, 443 minutes, 110.1 overs)321
Fall of wickets:
1-3 (Anderson), 2-172 (Furlong), 3-190 (Lawry), 4-266 (Potter), 5-274 (Crompton), 6-279 (Jordon), 7-293 (Guest), 8-302 (Kline), 9-319 (Meckiff), 10-321 (Gaunt, 110.1 ov)
New South Wales bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Davidson16   1632--
Misson23   4720--
Booth4   1100--
Benaud9   1240--
Simpson27   7663--
O'Neill1   020--

New South Wales first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RB Simpsonb Meckiff95     
ID Craiglbw b Guest80     
NCL O'Neillc Jordon b Meckiff0     
FM Missonc Crompton b Guest21     
BC Boothc Cowper b Gaunt7     
RN Harveyc Cowper b Guest46     
G Thomasb Meckiff0     
AK Davidsonc Anderson b Guest106     
*R Benaudc Cowper b Kline7     
JW Martinrun out (Crompton)0     
+DA Fordnot out0     
Extras(9 b, 9 lb, 1 nb, 3 w)22
Total(all out, 356 minutes, 77.7 overs)384
Fall of wickets:
1-161 (Craig), 2-164 (O'Neill), 3-208 (Misson), 4-212 (Simpson), 5-227 (Booth), 6-230 (Thomas), 7-306 (Harvey), 8-325 (Benaud), 9-325 (Martin), 10-384 (Davidson, 77.7 ov)
Victoria bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Meckiff26   4973--
Gaunt10   2371--
Kline16   1981-1
Crompton3   0270--

Victoria second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*WM Lawryb Benaud67     
DJ Andersonc Craig b Davidson0     
RW Furlongc O'Neill b Simpson26     
J Potterc Ford b Martin12     
RM Cowperc O'Neill b Simpson18     
CN Cromptonb Benaud27     
+RC Jordonb Martin3     
CEJ Guestc O'Neill b Benaud27     
LF Klinec Booth b Simpson2     
I Meckiffb Benaud0     
RA Gauntnot out0     
Extras(13 b, 2 lb, 1 nb)16
Total(all out, 235 minutes, 68.3 overs)198
Fall of wickets:
1-3 (Anderson), 2-33 (Potter), 3-66 (Cowper), 4-112 (Crompton), 5-125 (Jordon), 6-161 (Guest), 7-186 (Lawry), 8-195 (Kline), 9-198 (Furlong), 10-198 (Meckiff, 68.3 ov)
New South Wales bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Davidson3   081--
Misson3   090--
Martin24   4852--
Simpson19   5313-1

New South Wales second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
ID Craignot out65     
RB Simpsonnot out67     
NCL O'Neilldid not bat      
FM Missondid not bat      
BC Boothdid not bat      
RN Harveydid not bat      
G Thomasdid not bat      
AK Davidsondid not bat      
*R Benauddid not bat      
JW Martindid not bat      
+DA Forddid not bat      
Extras(3 b, 3 lb, 1 nb)7
Total(no wicket, 115 minutes, 28.1 overs)139
Victoria bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Meckiff5   1150--
Guest7   0350--
Kline9   0250--
Gaunt2   0160--
Cowper5   0370-1

--> RW Furlong (1) passed 1500 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 76
--> AK Davidson (1) passed 6000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 48
--> WM Lawry (2) passed 5000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 66
--> RB Simpson (2) passed 9000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 5
--> JW Martin reached 200 wickets in First-Class matches when he dismissed J Potter, his 1st wicket in the Victoria second innings
--> RW Furlong retired hurt in the Victoria second innings (team score 17/1) - he returned when the score was 161/6

12th Men: RG Flockton (NSW) and KW Kirby (Vic)
Crowds: 7243, 9539, 14465, 3295. Total: 34,542. Receipts: 3,433 pounds





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2022 CricketArchive