South Australia v Marylebone Cricket Club
Marylebone Cricket Club in Australia and New Zealand 1958/59
VenueAdelaide Oval, Adelaide on 24th, 26th, 27th, 29th December 1958 (4-day match)
Balls per over8
TossSouth Australia won the toss and decided to field
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresCJ Egar, MJ McInnes
Close of play day 1Marylebone Cricket Club (1) 180/7 (Swetman 8*, Trueman 9*)
Close of play day 2South Australia (1) 110/3 (Lill 34*, Dansie 11*)
Close of play day 3Marylebone Cricket Club (2) 103/7 (Swetman 16*, Tyson 0*)

Marylebone Cricket Club first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
PE Richardsonc Trethewey b Hitchcox5     
CA Milton hit wkt b Hitchcox37     
W Watsonc Stevens b Trethewey2     
*MC Cowdreyc Hitchcox b Hurn6     
ER Dexterc Hurn b Hitchcox9     
TW Graveneyb Martin54     
GAR Lockc and b Hill43     
+R Swetmanc Trethewey b Hill41     
FS Truemanc Stevens b Hurn39     
FH Tysonc Hurn b Martin14     
JB Mortimorenot out17     
Extras(3 b, 4 lb, 2 nb)9
Total(all out, 428 minutes, 92.6 overs)276
Fall of wickets:
1-5, 2-10, 3-24, 4-34, 5-91, 6-159, 7-163, 8-220, 9-256, 10-276 (92.6 ov)
South Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Trethewey16   3331-1
Hitchcox21   6483--
Hurn17   2732-1
Hill20   4552--

South Australia first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*LE Favellb Dexter16     
GB Stevensc Trueman b Dexter14     
D Harrisc Swetman b Lock28     
JC Lilllbw b Trueman86     
HN Dansiec Graveney b Trueman13     
LT Hillc Cowdrey b Trueman0     
JW Martin hit wkt b Mortimore26     
BM Hurnb Trueman18     
+BN Jarmanc Swetman b Tyson1     
RA Hitchcoxnot out6     
PG Tretheweylbw b Trueman0     
Extras(3 b, 6 lb, 4 nb, 2 w)15
Total(all out, 355 minutes, 72.5 overs)223
Fall of wickets:
1-28, 2-49, 3-77, 4-114, 5-115, 6-164, 7-212, 8-213, 9-223, 10-223 (72.5 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Tyson9   322121
Dexter14   2452--
Lock20   4681--
Mortimore11   3271--

Marylebone Cricket Club second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
PE Richardsonlbw b Trethewey0     
W Watsonb Martin40     
TW Graveneyc Jarman b Hurn13     
*MC Cowdreyb Hurn6     
ER Dexterc Jarman b Hurn7     
GAR Lockc and b Hurn6     
+R Swetmanc Martin b Hurn76     
FS Truemanc Favell b Hill12     
FH Tysonb Martin15     
CA Miltonnot out14     
JB Mortimoredid not bat      
Extras(5 lb, 1 nb)6
Total(9 wickets, declared, 276 minutes, 64.3 overs)195
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-17, 3-25, 4-37, 5-43, 6-90, 7-103, 8-137, 9-195 (64.3 ov)
South Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Trethewey7   0181-1
Hitchcox11   0340--
Martin23   5472--
Hill6   1151--
Dansie4   1130--

South Australia second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*LE Favellc Richardson b Lock52     
GB Stevensrun out (Tyson->Swetman)0     
D Harrisrun out32     
+BN Jarmanb Trueman2     
JW Martinc Watson b Trueman7     
JC Lillc Swetman b Trueman3     
HN Dansieb Trueman26     
LT Hilllbw b Lock2     
BM Hurnb Mortimore7     
RA Hitchcoxnot out2     
PG Tretheweydid not bat      
Extras(5 lb)5
Total(9 wickets, 195 minutes, 43 overs)138
Fall of wickets:
1-14, 2-78, 3-80, 4-88, 5-93, 6-102, 7-122, 8-135, 9-138 (43 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Trueman12   3334--
Tyson8   0320--
Dexter5   1160--
Lock13   3442--
Mortimore4   231--
Graveney1   050--

--> LT Hill made his debut in First-Class matches
--> RA Hitchcox achieved his best innings bowling analysis in First-Class matches in the Marylebone Cricket Club first innings (previous best was 3-88)
--> BM Hurn achieved his best innings bowling analysis in First-Class matches in the Marylebone Cricket Club second innings (previous best was 3-65)
--> BM Hurn achieved his first five wickets in an innings in First-Class matches in the Marylebone Cricket Club second innings
--> FS Trueman reached 900 wickets in First-Class matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the South Australia second innings

12th Men: AABedford (SA) MCC duties shared
Crowds: 6748, 13481, 9115, 12664. Total: 42,008. Receipts: 6,486 pounds





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2022 CricketArchive