Queensland v New South Wales
Sheffield Shield 1955/56
VenueBrisbane Cricket Ground, Woolloongabba, Brisbane on 28th, 29th, 31st October, 1st November 1955 (4-day match)
Balls per over8
TossQueensland won the toss and decided to field
ResultMatch drawn
PointsQueensland 1; New South Wales 3
UmpiresC Hoy, LH Townsend
Close of play day 1New South Wales (1) 294/5 (Miller 87*, Crawford 39*)
Close of play day 2Queensland (1) 106/2 (Grout 68*, Burge 37*)
Close of play day 3New South Wales (2) 20/1 (Burke 5*, Simpson 3*)

New South Wales first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WJ Watsonc Grout b Lindwall6     
JW Burkec Fisher b Walmsley85     
RB Simpsonrun out (RG Archer->Walmsley)40     
R Benaudc Grout b Lindwall20     
*KR Millerlbw b RG Archer164     
JH de Courcyc Harvey b Lindwall9     
WPA Crawfordc KA Archer b Quelch86     
PI Philpottc Grout b Walmsley0     
AK Davidsonc Grout b Lindwall21     
+O Lambertb Lindwall0     
JC Treanornot out0     
Extras(3 b, 5 lb, 1 nb)9
Total(all out, 500 minutes, 117.4 overs)440
Fall of wickets:
1-12 (Watson), 2-90 (Simpson), 3-131 (Benaud), 4-191 (Burke), 5-210 (de Courcy), 6-396 (Crawford), 7-398 (Philpott), 8-440 (Davidson), 9-440 (Lambert), 10-440 (Miller, 117.4 ov)
Queensland bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Lindwall24   4805--
RG Archer21.44601--
Fisher14   3350-1
Bratchford8   1210--
Quelch30   21631--
Walmsley15   0662--
Mackay5   260--

Queensland first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CE Harveyc Simpson b Crawford0     
+ATW Groutlbw b Davidson76     
KD Mackayb Davidson0     
PJP Burgec Benaud b Davidson50     
RG Archerc de Courcy b Crawford84     
KA Archerb Davidson45     
WT Walmsleyc Simpson b Davidson4     
JD Bratchfordlbw b Miller13     
B Fisherlbw b Benaud0     
*RR Lindwallc Lambert b Davidson33     
LN Quelchnot out4     
Extras(1 b, 2 lb, 1 nb)4
Total(all out, 365 minutes, 89.4 overs)313
Fall of wickets:
1-0 (Harvey), 2-1 (Mackay), 3-127 (Burge), 4-132 (Grout), 5-218 (KA Archer), 6-224 (Walmsley), 7-253 (Bratchford), 8-254 (Fisher), 9-309 (RG Archer), 10-313 (Lindwall, 89.4 ov)
New South Wales bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Crawford15   4452--
Benaud24   7841--
Treanor10   0340--
Miller9   3241-1
Philpott5   2240--
Simpson2   0120--
Burke5   1120--

New South Wales second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WJ Watsonc Grout b RG Archer8     
JW Burkec Grout b Bratchford56     
RB Simpsonc Harvey b Quelch29     
R Benaudb Bratchford26     
JH de Courcyb Bratchford1     
PI Philpottnot out4     
WPA Crawfordst Grout b Walmsley5     
AK Davidsonnot out4     
*KR Millerdid not bat      
+O Lambertdid not bat      
JC Treanordid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 8 lb, 2 nb)14
Total(6 wickets, declared, 212 minutes, 48 overs)147
Fall of wickets:
1-9 (Watson), 2-80 (Simpson), 3-126 (Burke), 4-128 (de Courcy), 5-133 (Benaud), 6-143 (Crawford)
Queensland bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Lindwall9   2200--
RG Archer10   1221--
Bratchford11   1293-1
Fisher4   0150-1
Quelch7   1241--
Walmsley7   0231--

Queensland second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CE Harveylbw b Crawford4     
+ATW Groutrun out23     
KD Mackayb Crawford0     
PJP Burgeb Davidson5     
RG Archerc Lambert b Crawford32     
KA Archernot out5     
JD Bratchfordlbw b Treanor4     
WT Walmsleyc Miller b Benaud6     
*RR Lindwallnot out0     
B Fisherdid not bat      
LN Quelchdid not bat      
Extras(5 b, 2 lb, 1 nb)8
Total(7 wickets, 110 minutes, 29 overs)87
Fall of wickets:
1-8 (Harvey), 2-8 (Mackay), 3-19 (Burge), 4-70 (Grout), 5-70 (RG Archer), 6-74 (Bratchford), 7-86 (Walmsley)
New South Wales bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Crawford7   1203-1
Davidson4   0131--
Treanor10   2311--
Benaud6   2131--
Burke2   020--

--> LN Quelch made his debut in first-class matches
--> LN Quelch made his debut in Sheffield Shield matches
--> WPA Crawford (1) passed his previous highest score of 33 in first-class matches
--> WPA Crawford (1) passed his previous highest score of 33 in Sheffield Shield matches

12th Men: RS Ayres (Qld) and BC Booth (NSW)
Crowds: 3531, 8882, 3148, 921. Total: 16,482. Receipts: 2,373 pounds





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2020 CricketArchive