New South Wales v Lord Harris' XI
Lord Harris' XI in Australia and New Zealand 1878/79
VenueAssociation Ground, Sydney on 24th, 25th, 27th, 28th January 1879 (timeless match)
Balls per over4
TossNew South Wales won the toss and decided to field
ResultNew South Wales won by 5 wickets
UmpiresG Coulthard, WC Goddard
Close of play day 1New South Wales (1) 16/0 (AC Bannerman 9*, Garrett 7*)
Close of play day 2Lord Harris' XI (2) 29/0 (Ulyett 7*, Absolom 17*)
Close of play day 3New South Wales (2) 83/2 (Murdoch 43*, Massie 13*)

Lord Harris' XI first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
G Ulyettc Thomson b Tindall51     
AP Lucasc and b Tindall7     
AJ Webbec Allen b Coates1     
AN Hornbyc AC Bannerman b Evans12     
*Lord Harrisb Evans50     
F Pennc Garrett b Coates56     
T Emmettc Garrett b Tindall9     
VPFA Roylec AC Bannerman b Tindall13     
CA Absolomc Seale b Tindall16     
SS Schultznot out13     
+L Honec Garrett b Tindall16     
Extras(1 b, 2 lb, 1 w)4
Total(all out, 255 minutes, 135.3 overs)248
Fall of wickets:
1-21, 2-30, 3-54, 4-85, 5-151, 6-174, 7-194, 8-215, 9-227, 10-248 (135.3 ov)
New South Wales bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Evans41   16682--
Coates22   55221-
Garrett12   2350--

New South Wales first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AC Bannermanc Lucas b Emmett28     
TW Garrettc Absolom b Emmett12     
C Bannermanb Ulyett0     
*+WL Murdochc Webbe b Ulyett70     
E Evanslbw b Lucas21     
NFD Thomsonb Emmett50     
RC Allenb Lucas0     
HH Massierun out (Webbe->Emmett)30     
EH Sealest Hone b Emmett0     
E Tindallnot out9     
J Coatesst Hone b Lucas2     
Extras(6 b, 5 lb, 7 w)18
Total(all out, 290 minutes, 158.1 overs)240
Fall of wickets:
1-25, 2-25, 3-62, 4-108, 5-188, 6-194, 7-204, 8-210, 9-235, 10-240 (158.1 ov)
Lord Harris' XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Emmett64   327047-
Ulyett31   16512--
Schultz21   8430--
Hornby4   320--
Penn3   130--

Lord Harris' XI second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
G Ulyettst Murdoch b Evans20     
CA Absolomc Allen b Evans22     
AP Lucasb Coates15     
AN Hornbyb Evans20     
*Lord Harrisc AC Bannerman b Tindall22     
F Pennc Garrett b Evans18     
AJ Webbeb Coates27     
VPFA Royleb Coates29     
T Emmettnot out16     
SS Schultzb Coates1     
+L Honec Thomson b Evans0     
Extras(18 b, 8 lb, 1 w)27
Total(all out, 270 minutes, 143.1 overs)217
Fall of wickets:
1-46, 2-47, 3-85, 4-87, 5-124, 6-127, 7-180, 8-207, 9-216, 10-217 (143.1 ov)
New South Wales bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Tindall31   13441--
Coates25   143841-
Garrett20   6260--

New South Wales second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AC Bannermanb Lucas15     
*+WL Murdochb Lucas49     
NFD Thomsonc Hornby b Ulyett9     
HH Massienot out78     
RC Allenc +Webbe b Ulyett5     
E Evansc Emmett b Lucas1     
C Bannermannot out60     
TW Garrettdid not bat      
EH Sealedid not bat      
E Tindalldid not bat      
J Coatesdid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 6 lb, 1 w)9
Total(5 wickets, 280 minutes, 152 overs)226
Fall of wickets:
1-33, 2-58, 3-98, 4-113, 5-116
Lord Harris' XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Lucas54   24763--
Emmett43   225101-
Ulyett33   18572--
Hornby13   8150--
Schultz9   2180--

--> RC Allen made his debut in first-class matches
--> EH Seale made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> WL Murdoch (1) passed his previous highest score of 49 in first-class matches
--> HH Massie (1) passed his previous highest score of 17 in first-class matches
--> Lord Harris (2) passed 4000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 5
--> VPFA Royle (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 20
--> HH Massie (2) passed his previous highest score of 30 in first-class matches
--> F Penn made his debut in Australia in first-class matches
--> G Ulyett reached 200 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the New South Wales first innings
--> T Emmett reached 800 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the New South Wales first innings

12th Men:T Powell (NSW) and FA MacKinnon (Eng)
Crowds: 4000, 10000, 15000, 5000. Total: About 34,000. Receipts: No figures published





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2020 CricketArchive