Bengal Governor's XI v Major-General Stewart's XII
Other First-Class matches in India 1944/45
VenueEden Gardens, Calcutta on 7th, 8th, 9th January 1945 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
Players12 per side
TossBengal Governor's XI won the toss and decided to field
ResultBengal Governor's XI won by 7 wickets
UmpiresS Dutt Roy, SK Ganguli
Close of play day 1Bengal Governor's XI (1) 26/0 (Mankad 5*, Nimbalkar 19*)
Close of play day 2Major-General Stewart's XII (2) 156/4 (Compton 33*, Jayawickreme 7*)

Major-General Stewart's XII first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+DD Hindlekarc Anwar Hussain b CS Nayudu8     
AC Chatterjeec CS Nayudu b Amarnath17     
DCS Comptonc Mankad b CS Nayudu26     
J Hardstaffrun out24     
SS Jayawickremec and b CS Nayudu0     
NC Chatterjeelbw b Amarnath18     
CT Sarwateb CS Nayudu5     
SK Girdharib CS Nayudu2     
Maharaja of Cooch Beharb Amarnath10     
PK Senc Bhattacharya b Amarnath10     
NR Chowdhuryst Doraiswami b CS Nayudu0     
PAH Careynot out2     
Total(all out, 56.2 overs)136
Fall of wickets:
1-29 (Hindlekar), 2-43 (AC Chatterjee), 3-79 (Compton), 4-79 (Jayawickreme), 5-86 (Hardstaff), 6-96 (Sarwate), 7-98 (Girdhari), 8-110 (NC Chatterjee), 9-127 (Cooch Behar), 10-127 (Sen), 11-136 (Chowdhury, 56.2 ov)
Bengal Governor's XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Nimbalkar2   050--
Sen3   220--
Anwar Hussain5   380--
CS Nayudu20.21776--
Amarnath26   14304--

Bengal Governor's XI first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MH Mankadb Chowdhury14     
BB Nimbalkarb Girdhari92 155121 
S Mushtaq Alic Cooch Behar b Chowdhury0     
L Amarnathlbw b Chowdhury0     
M Sathasivamst Hindlekar b Girdhari56 605- 
*CK Nayudulbw b Girdhari40  51 
CS Nayuduc Cooch Behar b Girdhari2     
Anwar Hussainc Compton b Girdhari6     
K Bhattacharyab Girdhari0     
A Senb Girdhari1     
A Jabbarnot out0     
+TM Doraiswamib Girdhari0     
Total(all out, 62.5 overs)228
Fall of wickets:
1-55 (Mankad), 2-55 (Mushtaq Ali), 3-55 (Amarnath), 4-156 (Sathasivam), 5-204 (Nimbalkar), 6-214 (CS Nayudu), 7-227 (CK Nayudu), 8-227 (Bhattacharya), 9-228 (Anwar Hussain), 10-228 (Sen), 11-228 (Doraiswami, 62.5 ov)
Major-General Stewart's XII bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Carey7   2240--
Compton4   0140--
Chowdhury22   5873--
Sarwate5   0260--

Major-General Stewart's XII second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+DD Hindlekarb CS Nayudu3     
AC Chatterjeeb CS Nayudu14     
Maharaja of Cooch Beharrun out11     
J Hardstaffc Mushtaq Ali b Mankad73 607- 
DCS Comptonst +Nimbalkar b Mankad123 120132 
SS Jayawickremeb Mankad41 547- 
NC Chatterjeeb Amarnath15     
CT Sarwateb Mankad2     
PK Senlbw b Amarnath1     
SK Girdharic Jabbar b Amarnath6     
PAH Careyc Jabbar b Mankad2     
NR Chowdhurynot out1     
Total(all out, 84.4 overs)315
Fall of wickets:
1-14 (Hindlekar), 2-25 (AC Chatterjee), 3-76 (Cooch Behar), 4-143 (Hardstaff), 5-229 (Jayawickreme), 6-303 (Compton), 7-305 (Sarwate), 8-306 (NC Chatterjee), 9-309 (Sen), 10-312 (Carey), 11-315 (Girdhari, 84.4 ov)
Bengal Governor's XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Anwar Hussain5   1110--
Mankad29   5885--
CS Nayudu14   1552--
CK Nayudu5   0280--
Bhattacharya3   0140--
Sen3   0210--

Bengal Governor's XI second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MH Mankadc AC Chatterjee b Chowdhury17     
BB Nimbalkarc Compton b Chowdhury22     
S Mushtaq Alinot out86  10- 
*CK Nayudust Hindlekar b Girdhari5     
L Amarnathb Sarwate36     
Anwar Hussainnot out37     
M Sathasivamdid not bat      
CS Nayududid not bat      
K Bhattacharyadid not bat      
A Sendid not bat      
A Jabbardid not bat      
+TM Doraiswamidid not bat      
Total(4 wickets, 46 overs)226
Fall of wickets:
1-43 (Mankad), 2-56 (Nimbalkar), 3-61 (CK Nayudu), 4-132 (Amarnath)
Major-General Stewart's XII bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Chowdhury14   1732--
Carey6   0360--
Girdhari17   2621--
Sarwate9   0321--

--> M Sathasivam scored 1 five in the Bengal Governor's XI first innings
--> A Jabbar made his last appearance in First-Class matches
--> TM Doraiswami made his last appearance in First-Class matches
--> DCS Compton (2) 50 in 65 minutes
--> DCS Compton (2) 100 with 10 fours and 2 sixes
--> J Hardstaff (2) passed 16500 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 10
--> L Amarnath (2) passed 5000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 3
--> SK Girdhari achieved his best innings bowling analysis in First-Class matches when he dismissed A Sen in the Bengal Governor's XI first innings (previous best was 6-48)
--> SK Girdhari reached 50 wickets in First-Class matches when he dismissed Anwar Hussain, his 6th wicket in the Bengal Governor's XI first innings
--> NR Chowdhury completed a hat-trick in the Bengal Governor's XI first innings (Mankad, Mushtaq Ali, Amarnath)
--> MH Mankad reached 100 wickets in First-Class matches when he dismissed CT Sarwate, his 4th wicket in the Major-General Stewart's XII second innings

This match was the RB Lagden memorial match and played for the Red Cross Fund





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2022 CricketArchive