Leicestershire v Northamptonshire
County Championship 1939
VenueAylestone Road, Leicester on 5th, 7th, 8th August 1939 (3-day match)
Balls per over8
TossNorthamptonshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresFJ Durston, CV Tarbox
Close of play day 1No play
Close of play day 2Leicestershire (1) 27/0 (Berry 12*, Lester 10*)

Northamptonshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
EJH Dixonb Drake30     
HW Greenwoodc Packe b Drake68     
D Brookesc Packe b Armstrong43     
JE Timmsc Drake b Sperry26     
WE Merrittc Packe b Armstrong24     
*RP Nelsonlbw b Smith44     
FP O'Brienc Smith b Armstrong19     
+KC Jamesc Dawkes b Drake14     
CP Davisc Armstrong b Smith8     
RJ Partridgeb Smith6     
EJ Herbertnot out1     
Extras(10 b, 4 lb, 2 nb, 1 w)17
Total(all out, 88.5 overs)300
Fall of wickets:
1-74, 2-113, 3-159, 4-203, 5-203, 6-228, 7-251, 8-271, 9-299, 10-300 (88.5 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sperry18   6641--
Drake26   7583--
Lester3   0240--
Prentice11   1430--
Armstrong8   1323--

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GL Berryc Dixon b Partridge16     
G Lester hit wkt b Merritt26     
NF Armstrong hit wkt b Merritt20     
FT Prenticenot out8     
GS Watsonnot out1     
*MS Packedid not bat      
HA Smithdid not bat      
+GO Dawkesdid not bat      
J Sperrydid not bat      
M Tompkindid not bat      
CH Drakedid not bat      
Extras(5 b, 7 lb)12
Total(3 wickets, 28.5 overs)83
Fall of wickets:
1-43, 2-55, 3-82
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Partridge12   1271--
Herbert2   0100--
Timms2   030--
Nelson2   140--

--> D Brookes (1) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 20
--> RP Nelson (1) passed 2000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 7
--> KC James (1) passed 3000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 7
--> HA Smith reached 1000 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Northamptonshire first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive