South Australia v New South Wales
Sheffield Shield 1938/39
VenueAdelaide Oval, Adelaide on 16th, 17th, 19th, 20th December 1938 (4-day match)
Balls per over8
TossSouth Australia won the toss and decided to bat
ResultSouth Australia won by an innings and 55 runs
PointsSouth Australia 5; New South Wales 0
UmpiresAG Jenkins, JD Scott
Close of play day 1South Australia (1) 353/3 (Badcock 130*, Hamence 47*)
Close of play day 2New South Wales (1) 40/0 (Fitzpatrick 22*, Cheetham 16*)
Close of play day 3New South Wales (1) 346/6 (Chipperfield 149*, Easton 16*)

South Australia first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RS Whitingtonc James b Murphy0     
KL Ridingsb O'Reilly31     
*DG Bradmanb Murphy143     
CL Badcocknot out271     
RA Hamencec Barnes b Fitzpatrick90     
+CW Walkerlbw b O'Reilly0     
MG Waiterun out (Solomon->White)21     
FA Wardb Barnes0     
CV Grimmettrun out (Barnes->Fingleton)35     
JA Scottdid not bat      
HNJ Cottondid not bat      
Extras(3 b, 4 lb, 2 nb)9
Total(8 wickets, declared, 590 minutes, 151.5 overs)600
Fall of wickets:
1-0 (Whitington), 2-67 (Ridings), 3-242 (Bradman), 4-445 (Hamence), 5-446 (Walker), 6-512 (Waite), 7-514 (Ward), 8-600 (Grimmett, 151.5 ov)
New South Wales bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Murphy32   11262--
Cheetham20   1850--
O'Reilly36   9992-2
White28   11030--
Chipperfield8   0600--
Barnes15   2621--
James1   0130--
Fitzpatrick11   0401--

New South Wales first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JH Fitzpatrickb Grimmett23     
AG Cheethamst Walker b Grimmett27     
CM Solomonc Walker b Grimmett1     
SG Barnesb Cotton117     
*JHW Fingletonc Walker b Scott0     
AG Chipperfieldc Walker b Cotton154     
RV Jameslbw b Grimmett9     
+FA Eastonc Walker b Grimmett17     
ECS Whitelbw b Grimmett14     
WJ O'Reillylbw b Grimmett20     
JJ Murphynot out3     
Extras(1 b, 1 lb, 3 nb)5
Total(all out, 399 minutes, 123.6 overs)390
Fall of wickets:
1-43 (Fitzpatrick), 2-45 (Solomon), 3-66 (Cheetham), 4-67 (Fingleton), 5-252 (Barnes), 6-288 (James), 7-350 (Easton), 8-356 (Chipperfield), 9-379 (White), 10-390 (O'Reilly, 123.6 ov)
South Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cotton23   1762-2
Waite15   3370-1
Ward20   2810--
Scott29   10751--

New South Wales second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
JH Fitzpatrickb Cotton5     
AG Cheethamc Cotton b Scott9     
CM Solomonc and b Grimmett13     
SG Barnesc Whitington b Ward28     
AG Chipperfieldlbw b Ward13     
*JHW Fingletonc Ward b Grimmett3     
ECS Whitec and b Ward21     
RV Jameslbw b Grimmett42     
WJ O'Reillyc Bradman b Ward7     
+FA Eastonnot out7     
JJ Murphyc Badcock b Grimmett4     
Extras(1 b, 2 lb)3
Total(all out, 159 minutes, 44.7 overs)155
Fall of wickets:
1-8 (Fitzpatrick), 2-21 (Cheetham), 3-49 (Barnes), 4-59 (Solomon), 5-74 (Fingleton), 6-76 (Chipperfield), 7-120 (White), 8-134 (O'Reilly), 9-149 (James), 10-155 (Murphy, 44.7 ov)
South Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cotton6   0241--
Waite5   0170--
Scott5   1121--
Ward14   3404--

--> KL Ridings made his debut in Sheffield Shield matches
--> KL Ridings made his debut in First-Class matches
--> JA Scott made his debut in Sheffield Shield matches
--> CL Badcock (1) passed 6000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 164
--> AG Chipperfield (1) passed his previous highest score of 119 in Sheffield Shield matches
--> AG Chipperfield (1) passed 1000 runs in Sheffield Shield matches when he reached 139
--> RV James (2) passed his previous highest score of 31 in Sheffield Shield matches
--> RV James (2) passed his previous highest score of 31 in First-Class matches
--> CV Grimmett reached 1300 wickets in First-Class matches when he dismissed JH Fitzpatrick, his 1st wicket in the New South Wales first innings
--> FA Ward reached 250 wickets in First-Class matches when he dismissed WJ O'Reilly, his 4th wicket in the New South Wales second innings

12th Men: PL Ridings (SA) and VW McCaffrey (NSW)
Crowds: No daily figures published. Total: 9310. Receipts: 398 pounds





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2022 CricketArchive