Tasmania v Invitation XI
Other matches in Australia 1978/79 (J Simmons Benefit match)
VenueNorth Tasmania Cricket Association Ground, Launceston on 1st March 1979 (40-over match)
Balls per over6
PlayersTasmania: 12 (11 to bat and field); Invitation XI: 11
TossToss not known
ResultTasmania won by 5 wickets

Invitation XI inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
AMJ Hilditchb Whitney56     
+J Dysonc Sherriff b Majewski11     
WM Darlingb Sherriff68     
GM Woodst Woolley b Simmons25     
GN Yallopc Sherriff b Majewski22     
AR Borderrun out27     
B Yardleynot out0     
WJ Scholesnot out2     
BJ McArdledid not bat      
RM Hoggdid not bat      
GT Rossdid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 2 lb, 8 nb)12
Total(6 wickets, innings closed, 168 minutes, 40 overs)223
Fall of wickets:
1-26 (Dyson), 2-111, 3-152, 4-181, 5-221, 6-221
Tasmania bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Cowmeadow8   0350---4.38
Sherriff7   0341--42.004.86
Whitney7   1241--42.003.43
Majewski6   0382--18.006.33
Gatenby4   0340---8.50
Simmons8   0461--48.005.75

Tasmania inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
DA Smithc Ross b Yardley24     
JH Hampshireb McArdle45     
DC Boonst Dyson b Border73     
+RD Woolleyc and b McArdle2     
TW Dockingnot out55     
*J Simmonsb Border133--33.33
SJ Howardnot out8     
GJ Cowmeadowdid not bat      
RJ Sherriffdid not bat      
GR Whitneydid not bat      
NJ Majewskidid not bat      
DJ Gatenbydid not bat      
Extras(6 b, 7 lb, 3 nb)16
Total(5 wickets, 170 minutes, 39.4 overs)224
Fall of wickets:
1-55 (Smith), 2-102 (Hampshire), 3-110 (Woolley), 4-200 (Boon), 5-202 (Simmons)
Invitation XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Hogg8   0440---5.50
McArdle8   2312--24.003.88
Yardley8   0351--48.004.38
Border4   0232--12.005.75
Yallop2   0170---8.50
Wood2   0180---9.00

Testimonial match for Jack Simmons. This was his final appearance for Tasmania.
Tasmania Fourth Wicket Partnership of 90 in 61 Minutes (DC Boon and TW Docking)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2020 CricketArchive