Sussex v Leicestershire
County Championship 1933
VenueThe Saffrons, Eastbourne on 23rd, 24th, 25th August 1933 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSussex won the toss and decided to bat
ResultSussex won by 70 runs
PointsSussex 15; Leicestershire 0
UmpiresLC Braund, D Hendren
Close of play day 1Leicestershire (1) 12/0 (Shipman 7*, Berry 5*)
Close of play day 2Sussex (2) 82/1 (Bowley 58*, JH Parks 1*)

Sussex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
EH Bowleyc Armstrong b Marlow14     
JG Langridgest Sidwell b Marlow18     
JH Parkslbw b Astill6     
G Coxb Astill3     
J Langridgest Sidwell b Smith63     
HW Parksc and b Astill45     
*A Melvillec Snary b Astill53     
AF Wensleyc Riddington b Marlow23     
+WL Cornfordc Riddington b Astill6     
MW Tatenot out0     
JH Cornfordb Marlow1     
Extras(5 b, 8 lb)13
Total(all out, 125.1 overs)245
Fall of wickets:
1-23, 2-38, 3-42, 4-42, 5-157, 6-157, 7-193, 8-241, 9-244, 10-245 (125.1 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Smith24   10381--
Snary21   6390--
Astill41   13565--

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AW Shipmanst WL Cornford b Bowley37     
GL Berrylbw b J Langridge7     
NF Armstrongc JG Langridge b JH Cornford43     
A Riddingtonlbw b Wensley19     
*EW Dawsonc JH Parks b J Langridge9     
AG Westonlbw b J Langridge0     
WE Astillc JH Parks b J Langridge12     
+TE Sidwellc JG Langridge b Melville45     
HC Snarynot out17     
HA Smithc Melville b J Langridge8     
WH Marlowlbw b Wensley14     
Extras(10 b, 4 lb, 3 nb)17
Total(all out, 124.5 overs)228
Fall of wickets:
1-15, 2-66, 3-98, 4-112, 5-112, 6-130, 7-134, 8-201, 9-209, 10-228 (124.5 ov)
Sussex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Tate6   350--
JH Cornford28   9451--
J Langridge40   18625--
Bowley11   0271--
JH Parks3   130--
Melville3   061--

Sussex second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
EH Bowleyst Sidwell b Marlow73     
JG Langridgec Snary b Marlow12     
JH Parksc Sidwell b Marlow12     
*A Melvillelbw b Astill12     
J Langridgeb Astill0     
HW Parksnot out39     
G Coxlbw b Astill0     
AF Wensleyc Marlow b Astill1     
+WL Cornfordb Smith14     
JH Cornfordb Smith3     
MW Tateabsent hurt
Extras(1 b)1
Total(all out, 76 overs)167
Fall of wickets:
1-41, 2-85, 3-110, 4-110, 5-111, 6-111, 7-117, 8-153, 9-167 (76 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Smith15   6322--
Marlow35   14793--
Astill23   8444--
Shipman3   0110--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AW Shipmanc JG Langridge b J Langridge5     
GL Berryc Bowley b Wensley15     
NF Armstronglbw b Wensley14     
A Riddingtonlbw b Wensley5     
*EW Dawsonb Wensley0     
AG Westonb Wensley18     
WE Astillc J Langridge b Wensley1     
+TE Sidwellnot out41     
HC Snaryc Cox b J Langridge10     
HA Smithb Wensley1     
WH Marlowst WL Cornford b Wensley0     
Extras(4 b)4
Total(all out, 53 overs)114
Fall of wickets:
1-19, 2-31, 3-38, 4-38, 5-47, 6-61, 7-68, 8-105, 9-114, 10-114 (53 ov)
Sussex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
JH Cornford6   0160--
J Langridge20   7372--
Wensley23   9418--
Bowley3   080--
Melville1   080--

--> JH Parks (1) passed 8000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 3
--> HW Parks (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 20
--> A Melville (1) passed his previous highest score of 52 in County Championship matches
--> EW Dawson (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 4
--> HW Parks (2) passed 7000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 21
--> NF Armstrong (2) passed 10000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 3
--> WH Marlow reached 100 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 4th wicket in the Sussex first innings
--> J Langridge reached 600 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Leicestershire first innings
--> AF Wensley achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Leicestershire second innings (previous best was 8-53)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2020 CricketArchive