Delhi Daredevils beat Bangalore by six wickets
by CricketArchive Staff Reporter

Scorecard:Royal Challengers Bangalore v Delhi Daredevils
Player:TM Dilshan, KP Pietersen
Event:Indian Premier League 2009

DateLine: 26th April 2009


Delhi Daredevils beat Bangalore Royal Challengers by 6 wickets to win the 14th match of the second edition of the Indian Premier League at St George's Park in Port Elizabeth on Sunday. Delhi Daredevils chased down the victory target of 150 runs with 4 balls to spare for their third victory in a row as Bangalore lost their fourth consecutive match.


Tillakaratne Dilshan led the Delhi run chase with an unbeaten 67-run knock that came off 47 balls and was studded with 2 sixes and 5 fours. Dilshan was adjudged the Man of the Match. Mithun Manhas partnered Dilshan till the end with an unbeaten 23 that came off 13 balls with the help of 3 fours. Delhi Daredevils lost openers Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir cheaply and were 64/2 in 10 overs. Both the Delhi wickets were taken by medium pacer Pankaj Singh who first had Delhi captain Sehwag (7) caught by Kevin Pietersen at mid-on for Kevin Pietersen and in the sixth over had Gambhir (16) caught behind by Mark Boucher.


Earlier, Bangalore Royal Challengers scored 149/7 in 20 overs. Bangalore kept losing wickets at regular intervals with none of their batsmen going on to hit a half-century. Mark Boucher, playing his first game of the tournament, hit 2 sixes and 2 fours in his in his 28-ball 36, while Ross Taylor chipped in with 31 that came off 34 balls. Pradeep Sangwan dismissed Boucher by having him caught by Amit Mishra at long on.


Taylor was trapped plumb in front of the wicket by a googly from Mishra in the first over after the strategic timeout. Bangalore were 74/3 in 10 overs. Bangalore got off to a poor start after captain Kevin Pietersen won the toss and chose to bat in overcast conditions as Jacques Kallis was dismissed on the first ball of the match by Dirk Nannes. Kallis shouldered arms, the ball swung back in and hit the off-stump to the delight of the Delhi Daredevils. In the second over, Robin Uthappa (3) mistimed a pull to mid-on for Pradeep Sangwan to take the catch off Ashish Nehra. Pietersen hit 2 sixes and 2 fours in his 37-run knock that came off 25 balls and added 62 runs for with Ross Taylor the third wicket before going for a switch-hit off Daniel Vettori and was clean bowled.



| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive