Pakistan v South Africa, Port Elizabeth December 11, 2002
by Muhammad Asim

Scorecard:South Africa v Pakistan

Pakistan produced a near perfect display of one-day cricket to level the standard Bank One-Day International series with an emphatic 182-run win over South Africa at St. George's Park in Port Elizabeth. Winning the toss Pakistan made their intentions clear with Shahid Afridi setting the tone of the innings in the first over. The South Africans' short-lived joy at the early wicket of Afridi for 13 off eight balls, turned into despair as Saleem Elahi and Abdur Razzaq set about the bowling with a record second-wicket partnership of 257 in 40 overs. In complete contrast to the innings in Durban, Salim batted magnificently, recording his third hundred in four innings, surpassing his highest score of 108. By the time he was caught at cover for 135 off 129 balls, including 19 sparkling boundaries and the highest score by a Pakistan batsman against South Africa, the damage had been done. Abdur Razzaq was a surprise coming in at number three, where he has had limited success, and played a marvellous chanceless career-best innings of 112, his first hundred in this form of cricket. Using 120 balls to score his runs he recorded 13 fours and two sixes. With the remaining batsmen throwing caution to the wind, Inzamam-ul-Haq managed a quick 36 off 22 balls to leave Pakistan on a massive 335/6, the highest score ever by any team against South Africa, and also the highest at St. George's Park.


A good start was imperative and Herschelle Gibbs provided it. A 57-run partnership with Graeme Smith ended when Waqar Younis clean bowled Gibbs for 40 in the eighth over. South Africa had in the space of 10.3 overs gone from 57/1 to 100/7 and Pakistan were well on the way to a well-deserved win. Pollock and Klusener resisted for a short period before being bowling out for 153, South Africa had recorded their lowest score against Pakistan in 12 home internationals.


(Article: Copyright © 2003 Muhammad Asim


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive