Statistical highlights of Bangladesh v New Zealand 26th February 2003
by Rajneesh Gupta

Scorecard:Bangladesh v New Zealand

  • Akram Khan was appearing in his 39th match after a gap of 22 months. He last appeared in a ODI match against Zimbabwe at Bulawayo in April 2001, thus missing 21 matches in between.
  • Mohammad Ashraful's 56 was the only third score in the fifties for Bangladesh in the World Cup. Minhajul Abedin (68 not out against Scotland at Edinburgh in 1999) and Mehrab Hossain (64 against West Indies at Dublin also in 1999) are the only others to score a fifty.
  • Ashraful's innings is the highest for Bangladesh against New Zealand bettering the 54 by Azhar Hossain at Sharjah in 1990.
  • The 34-run partnership between Ashraful and Akram Khan was Bangladesh's best against New Zealand for the fifth wicket. The pair obliterated the 22-run stand by Aminul Islam and Azhar Hossain at Sharjah in 1990.
  • The unbeaten 70-run partnership between Khaled Masud and Mohammad Rafique was Bangladesh's best for the eighth wicket in ODIs bettering the previous best of 60 runs between Khaled Masud and Tapash Baisya against South Africa at Potchefstroom in 2002.
  • The above partnership was also Bangladesh's best for the eighth wicket in the World Cup, eclipsing the 37-run stand between Minhajul Adedin and Enamul Hoque against Scotland at Edinburgh in 1999.
  • The Masud-Rafique partnership was the best for the eighth wicket by any team at this ground. Zimbabweans Heath Streak and John Rennie had put on 62 against England in 2000.
  • Mohammad Rafique’s 41 (not out) was the highest score made by a Bangladeshi batsman at number nine in ODIs. The previous highest was the unbeaten 35 by Taspash Baisya against South Africa at Benoni in 2002.
  • Craig McMillan during his innings of 75 (when on 8) became the 9th New Zealander and the 75th batsman overall in ODIs to aggregate of 3000 runs. McMillan now has 3067 runs in 127 matches and 121 innings.
  • The unbeaten partnership of 61 runs was New Zealand's best for the fourth wicket against Bangladesh obliterating the previous best of 52 runs between Andrew Jones and Ken Rutherford at Sharjah in 1990.
  • Bangladesh extended its dubious record of "no-win" match sequence to 31, which includes 28 losses and 2 no-results!

(Article: Copyright © 2003 Rajneesh Gupta)


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive