Statistical highlights of England v Namibia 19th February 2003
by Rajneesh Gupta

Scorecard:England v Namibia

  • Sarel Burger was making his international debut for Namibia. He became 14th player to represent Namibia in ODIs.
  • Louis Burger, by taking three catches in England’s innings, equals the World Cup record of most catches by a fielder in a match. He now shares the record with 12 other fielders.
  • Rudi vaan Vuuren (5-43) became only the fourth bowler from a non-Test playing country to take a five-wicket haul in ODIs. The others being : UAE’s Shaukat Dukhanwala (5-29 v Holland at Lahore in 1996), Kenya’s Aasif Karim (5-23 v Bangladesh at Nairobi in 1997) and Canada’s Austin Codgrington (5-27 v Bangladesh at Durban in this World Cup).
  • Vaan Vuuren also becomes the third bowler to take a five-wicket haul against England in a World Cup match after Australia’s Gary Gilmour (6-14 at Leeds in 1975) and West Indian Joel Garner (5-38 at Lord’s in 1979).
  • Nine batsmen were out caught in England’s innings – third such instance in World Cup cricket. All ten Kiwi batsmen were out caught against West Indies at Southampton in 1999 World Cup, while 9 Sei Lankan batsmen were out in similar fashion against England at Lord’s also in 1999 World Cup.
  • Andries Burger (85) became the first Namibian batsman to score a fifty in ODIs. The previous highest individual score was 27 by Daniel Keulder against Zimbabwe at Harare in this World Cup.
  • Burger’s 85 is now the highest score by a non-Test playing country against England bettering Kenya’s Steve Tikolo’s 71 at Canterbury in 1999 World Cup.
  • The third wicket partnership of 97 runs between Burger and Daniel Keulder is Namibia’s best for any wicket in ODIs. The previous highest was 42 for tenth wicket between Bjorn Kutze and Rudi vaan Vuuren against Pakistan at Kimberley. For the record, the previous highest stand for third wicket for Namibia was 40 between Stephen Swanepoel and Daniel Keulder against Zimbabwe at Harare.
  • Andries Burger became first Namibian player to win a Man of the Match award.

(Article: Copyright © 2003 Rajneesh Gupta)


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive