Essex v Leicestershire
County Championship 1958
VenueCastle Park Cricket Ground, Colchester on 25th, 26th, 27th June 1958 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossLeicestershire won the toss and decided to field
ResultMatch drawn
PointsEssex 0; Leicestershire 0
UmpiresHG Baldwin, H Elliott
ScorersFN Bloxsom (Leicestershire), CV Jenkinson (Essex)
Close of play day 1Leicestershire (1) 10/0 (Hallam 2*, Watson 7*)
Close of play day 2Leicestershire (1) 149/3 (Watson 77*, Lester 7*)

Essex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
TC Doddsb Boshier10      
G Barkerc Spencer b Smith13      
LA Savillc Spencer b Savage32      
*DJ Insolec Revill b Boshier31      
TE Baileyc Julian b Spencer41      
+B Taylorc and b Savage9      
MJ Bearb Savage0      
WT Greensmithnot out40      
LHR Ralphlbw b Savage19      
KC Prestonc and b Savage18      
PJ Phelanb Boshier7      
Extras(3 b, 4 lb)7
Total(all out, 104.4 overs)227
Fall of wickets:
1-11, 2-28, 3-87, 4-87, 5-117, 6-119, 7-159, 8-188, 9-212, 10-227 (104.4 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Spencer30   10491--
Smith16   4351--
Savage29   9795--

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MR Hallamc Barker b Ralph12      
*W Watsonnot out77      
EF Phillipsc Greensmith b Bailey3      
AC Revillc Dodds b Greensmith31      
G Lesternot out7      
RA Dimentdid not bat      
+R Juliandid not bat      
JS Savagedid not bat      
RC Smithdid not bat      
CT Spencerdid not bat      
BS Boshierdid not bat      
Extras(10 b, 8 lb, 1 w)19
Total(3 wickets, 70 overs)149
Fall of wickets:
1-29, 2-36, 3-115
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Bailey23   4381--
Preston13   4250--
Ralph15   6221--
Phelan5   2150--
Greensmith14   1301--

--> There was no play on the final day.
--> LHR Ralph (1) passed 1500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 6
--> W Watson (1) passed 17500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 43





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive