Essex v Northamptonshire
County Championship 1929
VenueCounty Ground, Leyton on 13th, 15th, 16th July 1929 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossEssex won the toss and decided to bat
ResultEssex won by 252 runs
PointsEssex 8; Northamptonshire 0
UmpiresF Parris, H Thompson
Close of play day 1Northamptonshire (1) 15/3 (Bellamy 3*, Liddell 5*)
Close of play day 2Northamptonshire (2) 27/0 (Bakewell 17*, Clark 5*)

Essex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GWO Smithc Bellamy b Clark5     
JA Cutmorec Bakewell b Thomas50     
LC Eastmanc Jupp b Clark18     
CAG Russellc Liddell b Thomas70     
MS Nicholsc Timms b Matthews51     
*HM Morrisb Thomas0     
AB Hipkinc Bellamy b Thomas29     
GW Hockeyc Liddell b Thomas3     
TH Wadenot out40     
AG Daerb Matthews30     
+JR Sheffieldb Matthews0     
Extras(1 b, 12 lb, 4 nb, 2 w)19
Total(all out, 103.2 overs)315
Fall of wickets:
1-12, 2-38, 3-119, 4-171, 5-171, 6-226, 7-237, 8-247, 9-315, 10-315 (103.2 ov)
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Clark25   4772--
Thomas30   5715--
Partridge10   2400--
Jupp20   3660--

Northamptonshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CN Woolleylbw b Nichols1     
AH Bakewellc Sheffield b Daer4     
+BW Bellamyb Daer9     
JE Timmsb Daer0     
AG Liddelllbw b Daer21     
*VWC Juppc and b Eastman53     
ADG Matthewsb Hipkin20     
AL Coxb Hipkin1     
AE Thomaslbw b Hipkin1     
RJ Partridgenot out5     
EW Clarkc Eastman b Hipkin10     
Extras(3 b, 1 lb, 2 nb)6
Total(all out, 56 overs)131
Fall of wickets:
1-6, 2-6, 3-6, 4-26, 5-39, 6-111, 7-111, 8-113, 9-114, 10-131 (56 ov)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Nichols15   5231--
Daer13   3484--
Eastman13   2431--
Hipkin15   6114--

Essex second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GWO Smithlbw b Jupp23     
JA Cutmorelbw b Clark11     
LC Eastmanc Bellamy b Thomas74     
CAG Russellb Thomas72     
MS Nicholsnot out43     
*HM Morrislbw b Thomas12     
AB Hipkinnot out7     
GW Hockeydid not bat      
TH Wadedid not bat      
AG Daerdid not bat      
+JR Sheffielddid not bat      
Extras(5 b, 2 nb)7
Total(5 wickets, declared, 65 overs)249
Fall of wickets:
1-22, 2-46, 3-172, 4-196, 5-224
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Clark15   0651--
Thomas18   3433--
Matthews14   1610--
Partridge9   1260--
Jupp7   0321--
Liddell2   0150--

Northamptonshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CN Woolleyretired hurt4     
AH Bakewellc Russell b Daer18     
+BW Bellamyc Hipkin b Daer0     
JE Timmslbw b Russell63     
AG Liddellc and b Russell22     
*VWC Juppst Sheffield b Russell5     
ADG Matthewsb Hipkin33     
AL Coxb Hipkin18     
AE Thomasnot out1     
RJ Partridgeb Eastman4     
EW Clarkb Nichols5     
Extras(5 b, 2 lb, 1 nb)8
Total(all out, 57 overs)181
Fall of wickets:
1-28, 2-28, 3-37, 4-108, 5-123, 6-126, 7-169, 8-176, 9-181 (57 ov)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Nichols11   1341--
Daer12   2412--
Eastman9   2301--
Hipkin12   6232--
Russell8   1273--
Wade5   0180--

--> TH Wade (1) passed his previous highest score of 33 in first-class matches
--> TH Wade (1) passed his previous highest score of 33 in County Championship matches
--> AG Daer (1) passed his previous highest score of 23 in first-class matches
--> AG Daer (1) passed his previous highest score of 23 in County Championship matches
--> AH Bakewell (2) passed 1500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 3
--> ADG Matthews (2) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 24
--> AL Cox (2) passed 500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 16
--> AG Daer achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Northamptonshire first innings (previous best was 3-17)
--> AB Hipkin reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when taking his 3rd wicket in the Northamptonshire first innings
--> AG Daer achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Northamptonshire first innings (previous best was 3-17)
--> CN Woolley retired hurt in the Northamptonshire second innings having scored 4 (team had lost 0 wickets)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive