Nelson v Taranaki
Chapple Cup 1981/82 (Final)
VenueTrafalgar Park, Nelson on 5th, 6th, 7th March 1982 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossTaranaki won the toss and decided to field
ResultMatch drawn (Taranaki won on first innings)
Close of play day 1Nelson (1) 195/6 (Hayward 47*, Aitken 10*; 64.2 overs)
Close of play day 2

Nelson first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CJP Smithc Sail b Lewington27 965- 
AH Jonesc Muggeridge b Sail0  -- 
RA Piercec Robertson b Muggeridge1  -- 
WG Hodgsonc Muggeridge b Sail73 8375 
RE Haywardlbw b Lewington59 16981 
*+GN Edwardsc Muggeridge b Sail1  -- 
SJ Gillc Muggeridge b Lewington24 5122 
CJ Aitkenc Snook b Lewington12     
BM Woodwardc Kirk b Lewington1  -- 
WM Aberhartb Lewington5     
PJ Vissernot out7     
Total(all out, 77 overs)225
Fall of wickets:
1-0 (Jones), 2-18 (Pierce), 3-79 (Smith), 4-121 (Hodgson), 5-122 (Edwards), 6-159 (Gill), 7-203 (Aitken), 8-207 (Woodward), 9-212 (Hayward), 10-225 (Aberhart, 77 ov)
Taranaki bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Muggeridge22   8511--
Sail23   8673--
Lewington30   14616--
Kirk2   0310--

Taranaki first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*IR Snookrun out (Hodgson)47 1708- 
JF Goodinst Edwards b Pierce47 2066- 
AE Sailc Hayward b Aitken0  -- 
S Tudballc Aitken b Pierce0  -- 
P Walshlbw b Aitken100  18- 
+PM Blackbournst Edwards b Aitken42 637- 
SP Robertsonc Gill b Aitken51 4843 
GG Bellnot out11     
PJ Lewingtonnot out2  -- 
CM Kirkdid not bat      
CJ Muggeridgedid not bat      
Total(7 wickets, declared, 348 minutes, 122 overs)320
Fall of wickets:
1-106 (Snook), 2-? (Sail), 3-? (Tudball), 4-124 (Goodin), 5-205 (Blackbourn), 6-301, 7-306
Nelson bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Aitken48   ?954--

Nelson second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CJP Smithrun out9     
AH Jonesb Lewington30 753- 
WG Hodgsonc Muggeridge b Sail14     
*+GN Edwardsb Sail7     
SJ Gillnot out137 169166 
RE Haywardb Lewington35  5- 
RA Piercenot out22     
CJ Aitkendid not bat      
BM Woodwarddid not bat      
WM Aberhartdid not bat      
PJ Visserdid not bat      
Total(5 wickets, declared, 71.4 overs)270
Fall of wickets:
1-29 (Smith), 2-49 (Hodgson), 3-60 (Jones), 4-64 (Edwards), 5-161 (Hayward)
Taranaki bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Muggeridge17   3570--
Sail15   3562--
Lewington30   10772--
Bell6   0350--

Taranaki second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*IR Snookc Jones b Gill37 8241 
JF Goodinc Edwards b Gill3     
S Tudballlbw b Aberhart22     
CM Kirkc Woodward b Jones17     
P Walshb Gill1     
+PM Blackbournc and b Woodward0     
SP Robertsonnot out10     
GG Bellnot out2     
AE Saildid not bat      
PJ Lewingtondid not bat      
CJ Muggeridgedid not bat      
Total(6 wickets, 45 overs)105
Fall of wickets:
1-6 (Goodin), 2-54 (Tudball), 3-79 (Snook), 4-85, 5-86, 6-97
Nelson bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Gill18   6403--
Aberhart5   1151--
Visser4   0180--
Woodward14   6161--
Jones4   231--

--> WG Hodgson (1) 50 in 65 minutes with 5 fours and 4 sixes
--> P Walsh (1) 100 in 159 minutes with 18 fours

The start of the match was delayed on the first day until 2pm due to misty rain
Bad light stopped play at 6.11 pm on the first day
IR Snook and JF Goodin put on 106 for the first wicket in the Taranaki first innings
SP Robertson scored 1 five in the Taranaki first innings
Bad light stopped play 25 minutes before the scheduled finishing time on the third day
12th Men: BG Schwass (Nelson), G Kerr (Taranaki)
Taranaki retained the Chapple Cup





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive