Somerset v Hampshire
Benson and Hedges Cup 1972 (West Group)
VenueWestlands Sports Ground, Yeovil on 20th, 22nd May 1972 (55-over match)
Balls per over6
TossHampshire won the toss and decided to field
ResultSomerset won by 51 runs
PointsSomerset 4 (Bonus 1); Hampshire 0
UmpiresWE Alley, AE Fagg
Close of play day 1Hampshire 54/1 (Greenidge 21*, Turner 2*; 16 overs)
Man of the MatchDB Close

Somerset inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
MJ Kitchenb Haslop20     
PJ Robinsonb Mottram0     
*DB Closec Turner b Sainsbury88     
GI Burgessc Gilliat b Haslop58     
PW Denningc Lewis b Mottram0     
RC Cooperc Marshall b Mottram40     
TW Cartwrightc Gilliat b Herman33     
KJ O'Keeffenot out9     
+DJS Taylornot out0     
HR Moseleydid not bat      
AA Jonesdid not bat      
Extras(8 lb, 6 nb, 2 w)16
Total(7 wickets, innings closed, 55 overs)264
Fall of wickets:
1-5, 2-41, 3-141, 4-141, 5-206, 6-241, 7-261
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Herman11   4421--66.003.82
Mottram11   3553--22.005.00
Haslop11   0512--33.004.64
Sainsbury11   1531--66.004.82
Greenidge11   1470---4.27

Hampshire inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
BA Richardslbw b Cartwright28     
CG Greenidgelbw b Cartwright51     
DR Turnerc Taylor b Cartwright12     
RE Marshallc Cartwright b O'Keeffe12     
*RMC Gilliatc Robinson b Jones62     
RV Lewisrun out2     
PJ Sainsburyrun out16     
+GR Stephensonc Robinson b O'Keeffe0     
RS Hermanb Moseley11     
TJ Mottramnot out7     
P Haslopc Taylor b Moseley0     
Extras(4 b, 6 lb, 2 w)12
Total(all out, 49.1 overs)213
Fall of wickets:
1-51, 2-95, 3-96, 4-136, 5-148, 6-181, 7-185, 8-205, 9-212, 10-213 (49.1 ov)
Somerset bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Jones8   0401--48.005.00
Cartwright11   2263--22.002.36
Burgess11   0610---5.55
O'Keeffe11   0512--33.004.64

--> The match was scheduled for one day but extended to two.
--> RS Herman reached 50 wickets in ListA matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Somerset innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive