Moin's gallant 112 makes Dolphins soar over Lions
by Asif Sohail

Ground:Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore
Scorecard:Lahore Lions v Karachi Dolphins
Player:Moin Khan, Agha Sabir, Haaris Ayaz
Event:ABN-AMRO Twenty-20 Cup 2004/05

DateLine: 25th April 2005


LAHORE, 25 April 2005: A hurricane innings by Test discard Moin Khan boosted Karachi Dolphins to defeat star-studded Lahore Lions by 17 runs in the ABN-AMRO Twenty-20 Cup match at the Gaddafi Stadium here on Monday.


Moin played a real captainís innings and notched-up 112 to become the first batsman to score a century in Pakistanís inaugural competition. He faced only 59 balls of which six were dispatched right over the fence while he sent the cherry across the ropes eight times.


Coming in to bat after the fall of Khurram Manzoor when the total was 9, Moin played the lead role in a 103-run second wicket partnership with Agha Sabir who also scored 43 runs with the help of three sixes and four hits across the ropes. Moin was so convincing and in great form that he played a chanceless innings and must have reinforced his chances to be selected in the Pakistan team to tour West Indies next month.


Fahadullah was other notable contributor who made 32 runs off 21 balls. He hit a six and three fours. Sajid Ali was the most successful bowler taking 3 for 45 while Abdul Razzaq claimed 2 for 41.


Lahore Lions lost two quick wickets. Imran Farhat went for 4. Shanawaz Malik made 9 runs. Nasir Jamshed and Abdul Razzaq then gave some respectability to their teamís total through a 72-run third-wicket partnership. Razzaq was looking in a dangerous mood as he punished every bowler at will but fell at an individual score of 45 made off 20 balls. He hit a six and eight fours in an entertaining innings that lasted only 20 minutes.


Adnan Raza was the other batsman who gave hope to Lions fans with 29 not out. Haaris Ayaz claimed 3 for 32. Khurram Farrukh and Fahim Ahmed took two wickets each for 15 and 30 respectively.

(Article: The opinions expressed in this article are those of the author only.
Copyright © 2005 Asif Sohail)


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2020 CricketArchive