Nottinghamshire v Leicestershire
County Championship 1926
VenueTrent Bridge, Nottingham on 7th, 8th, 9th July 1926 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossLeicestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultNottinghamshire won by 4 wickets
PointsNottinghamshire 5; Leicestershire 0
UmpiresF Chester, D Denton
Close of play day 1Nottinghamshire (1) 152/7 (Payton 15*, Larwood 19*)
Close of play day 2Nottinghamshire (2) 13/0 (Whysall 6*, Walker 5*)

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AW Shipmanc and b Barratt2     
GL Berryc Carr b Barratt53     
EG Hayesc SJ Staples b Barratt5     
A Lordb Richmond15     
WE Astillc Barratt b SJ Staples3     
+TE Sidwellst Lilley b Richmond6     
SS Coulsonc and b SJ Staples32     
*GBF Ruddc Carr b Flint38     
CAR Colemanc SJ Staples b Flint10     
HA Smithc Whysall b SJ Staples0     
F Balenot out0     
Extras(2 b, 4 lb, 2 w)8
Total(all out, 70.3 overs)172
Fall of wickets:
1-16, 2-24, 3-63, 4-66, 5-83, 6-91, 7-160, 8-162, 9-172, 10-172 (70.3 ov)
Nottinghamshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Barratt18   6323--
Larwood11   2330--
Richmond21   3572--
SJ Staples17.36373--
Flint3   252--

Nottinghamshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WW Whysallc Smith b Shipman2     
W Walkerc Bale b Astill4     
WA Flintc Bale b Lord42     
*AW Carrc Bale b Lord34     
WRD Paytonrun out59     
+B Lilleyrun out12     
SJ Staplesb Lord1     
A Staplesrun out1     
H Larwoodc Smith b Shipman41     
F Barrattc Sidwell b Shipman1     
TL Richmondnot out1     
Extras(8 b, 15 lb, 4 nb)27
Total(all out, 74.2 overs)225
Fall of wickets:
1-7, 2-7, 3-88, 4-99, 5-115, 6-118, 7-119, 8-206, 9-222, 10-225 (74.2 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Astill24   8451--
Coleman7   1190--
Bale13   5220--
Lord16   2563--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AW Shipmanc Larwood b Richmond51     
GL Berryc Carr b Richmond12     
EG Hayesrun out99     
A Lordlbw b Richmond12     
WE Astillnot out158     
+TE Sidwellb Carr51     
SS Coulsonb Richmond29     
*GBF Ruddb Barratt38     
CAR Colemanc Payton b SJ Staples0     
HA Smithnot out2     
F Baledid not bat      
Extras(6 b, 6 lb, 3 nb, 1 w)16
Total(8 wickets, declared, 103 overs)468
Fall of wickets:
1-34, 2-144, 3-184, 4-193, 5-286, 6-324, 7-426, 8-427
Nottinghamshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Barratt20   21021--
Larwood13   0530--
Richmond27   21184--
SJ Staples20   2981--
Flint14   3450--
A Staples7   1240--
Carr2   0121--

Nottinghamshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WW Whysallc Rudd b Astill109     
W Walkerc Shipman b Astill45     
*AW Carrb Astill64     
WRD Paytonnot out85     
F Barrattc Coleman b Shipman46     
+B Lilleyc Coleman b Shipman1     
WA Flintb Bale2     
SJ Staplesnot out54     
A Staplesdid not bat      
H Larwooddid not bat      
TL Richmonddid not bat      
Extras(8 b, 3 lb, 2 nb)13
Total(6 wickets, 101 overs)419
Fall of wickets:
1-92, 2-173, 3-246, 4-312, 5-314, 6-329
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Shipman21   51052--
Astill38   121023--
Coleman5   0310--
Bale11   1591--
Lord14   1620--
Hayes1   010--
Smith10   1400--
Rudd1   060--

--> SS Coulson (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 21
--> GBF Rudd (1) passed 2500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 32
--> WE Astill (2) passed his previous highest score of 115 in County Championship matches
--> WE Astill (2) passed his previous highest score of 156 in first-class matches
--> WE Astill (2) passed 10500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 44
--> WW Whysall (2) passed 10500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 17
--> W Walker (2) passed 3000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 22
--> WE Astill reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when taking his 1st wicket in the Nottinghamshire first innings
--> WE Astill reached 1300 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Nottinghamshire second innings
--> WE Astill reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches for the season when taking his 2nd wicket in the Nottinghamshire second innings




This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles