Leicestershire Second XI v Somerset Second XI
Minor Counties Championship 1958
VenueAylestone Road, Leicester on 2nd, 3rd June 1958 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSomerset Second XI won the toss and decided to field
ResultMatch drawn
PointsLeicestershire Second XI 2; Somerset Second XI 2
ScorersJW Carter (Leicestershire Second XI), T Matthews (Somerset Second XI)
Close of play day 1Leicestershire Second XI (1) 99/7 (Turner 11*, Smith 1*)

Leicestershire Second XI first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RA Dimentb Pickles21 491- 
EF Phillipslbw b Harris36 1423- 
GW Burchc Shirreff b Whitehead2 12-- 
RT Burbeckc Roe b Whitehead16 3011 
R Julianlbw b Whitehead2 13-- 
FM Turnernot out11 651- 
*JE Walshc Virgin b Harris7 18-- 
RL Prattb Harris0 6-- 
RC Smithnot out1 4-- 
[unknown]did not bat      
[unknown]did not bat      
Extras(1 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)3
Total(7 wickets, 53 overs)99
Fall of wickets:
1-23 (Diment), 2-30 (Burch), 3-60 (Burbeck), 4-69 (Julian), 5-81 (Phillips), 6-92 (Walsh), 7-98 (Pratt)
Somerset Second XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Biddulph6   0220-1
Harris11   31231-
Shirreff4   170--
Whitehead20   10203--
Pickles4   0111--
Atkinson1   090--
Walker7   3150--

Somerset Second XI first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
G Atkinsondid not bat      
RT Virgindid not bat      
B Roedid not bat      
*AC Shirreffdid not bat      
KD Biddulphdid not bat      
JH Harrisdid not bat      
AGT Whiteheaddid not bat      
L Picklesdid not bat      
M Walkerdid not bat      
[unknown]did not bat      
[unknown]did not bat      

--> There was no play on the final day.
--> RT Burbeck made his debut in Minor Counties Championship matches

Rain stopped play at 3.03 on the 1st day. It never restarted. Scorebook does not record the Somerset Second XI team, or the Leicestershire Second XI players who did not bat. The local newspapers stated that the team would be selected from 14 players. The additional members being TJ Goodwin, GA Hickinbottom, DG Goodson, R Wheeler and RJ Barratt.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive