Leicestershire Second XI v Northamptonshire Second XI
Minor Counties Championship 1957
VenueAylestone Road, Leicester on 19th, 20th June 1957 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossLeicestershire Second XI won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsLeicestershire Second XI 3; Northamptonshire Second XI 1
UmpiresHC Turner, J Waddington
ScorersWH Ashdown (Leicestershire Second XI), J Mercer (Northamptonshire Second XI)
Close of play day 1

Leicestershire Second XI first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
PT Smithlbw b Broderick39 1052- 
EF Phillipsb Broderick55 1517- 
MF Hickmanb Broderick11 292- 
AP Marrionc Dilley b Watts30 163- 
GW Burchst Smith b Watts40 1162- 
J Smithc Smith b Broderick1 7-- 
*JE Walshb Wild18 333- 
+R Julianc Dilley b Watts16 382- 
RC Smithnot out17 2021 
RL Prattdid not bat      
FM Turnerdid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 2 lb)6
Total(8 wickets, declared, 108.5 overs)233
Fall of wickets:
1-73 (PT Smith), 2-91 (Hickman), 3-116 (Phillips), 4-136 (Marrion), 5-141 (J Smith), 6-165 (Walsh), 7-204 (Julian), 8-233 (Burch, 108.5 ov)
Northamptonshire Second XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McGibbon9   680--
Dilley11   1380--
Edmonds8   2180--
Broderick33   16424--
Wild21   5521--

Northamptonshire Second XI first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AP Arnoldb Turner64 1235- 
MEJC Normanc Julian b Turner41 1282- 
LC Rowec Burch b Turner9 28-- 
*V Broderickc Pratt b Turner0 3-- 
M McMillanc Marrion b RC Smith2 25-- 
PD Wattsb RC Smith5 131- 
J Wildc Burch b Turner6 111- 
MR Dilleyc Julian b Turner0 8-- 
+J Smithc Walsh b RC Smith25 286- 
L McGibbonc Walsh b RC Smith2 18-- 
JF Edmondsnot out1 3-- 
Extras(8 b, 1 nb)9
Total(all out, 67.1 overs)164
Fall of wickets:
1-113 (Arnold), 2-114 (Norman), 3-114 (Broderick), 4-125 (Rowe), 5-129 (McMillan), 6-136 (Watts), 7-136 (Wild), 8-140 (Dilley), 9-159 (McGibbon), 10-164 (Smith, 67.1 ov)
Leicestershire Second XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Pratt18   4570-1
J Smith7   1110--
RC Smith18.19374--
Walsh5   1160--
Turner19   6346--

Leicestershire Second XI second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
PT Smithc Edmonds b McGibbon16 272- 
EF Phillipsb McGibbon5 52-- 
MF Hickmanc Edmonds b McGibbon22 413- 
AP Marrionc Edmonds b McGibbon34 3631 
GW Burchnot out32 583- 
J Smithc McMillan b Wild2 8-- 
*JE Walshc Dilley b Wild30 185- 
+R Juliannot out6 8-- 
RC Smithdid not bat      
RL Prattdid not bat      
FM Turnerdid not bat      
Extras(12 b, 4 lb)16
Total(6 wickets, declared, 43 overs)163
Fall of wickets:
1-26 (PT Smith), 2-47 (Phillips), 3-68 (Hickman), 4-101 (Marrion), 5-110 (J Smith), 6-152 (Walsh)
Northamptonshire Second XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McGibbon21   4654--
Dilley7   3170--
Broderick8   1350--
Wild7   1302--

Northamptonshire Second XI second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AP Arnoldc Julian b Walsh38 653- 
MEJC Normanst Julian b Turner39 982- 
LC Rowenot out15 631- 
*V Broderickc Burch b RC Smith3 4-- 
M McMillanc Marrion b Turner5 61- 
PD Wattsnot out3 16-- 
J Wilddid not bat      
MR Dilleydid not bat      
+J Smithdid not bat      
L McGibbondid not bat      
JF Edmondsdid not bat      
Extras(9 b)9
Total(4 wickets, 53 overs)112
Fall of wickets:
1-60 (Arnold), 2-86 (Norman), 3-93 (Broderick), 4-100 (McMillan)
Leicestershire Second XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Pratt4   170--
J Smith2   070--
RC Smith22   13151--
Turner13   0422--
Walsh12   4321--

--> AP Marrion made his last appearance in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> M McMillan made his last appearance in Minor Counties Championship matches

P Arnold (Northamptonshire Second XI) scored a 7 off a delivery from RL Pratt. Northamptonshire Second XI were set 233 to win in 130 minutes.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive