Derbyshire Second XI v Leicestershire Second XI
Minor Counties Championship 1956
VenueQueen's Park, Chesterfield on 25th, 26th July 1956 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossLeicestershire Second XI won the toss and decided to bat
ResultLeicestershire Second XI won by an innings and 110 runs
PointsDerbyshire Second XI 0; Leicestershire Second XI 10
UmpiresJW Ashley, A Crawshaw
ScorersGJ Burnham (Derbyshire Second XI), VR Roulstone (Leicestershire Second XI)
Close of play day 1Derbyshire Second XI (1) 35/3 (Short ?*, Wyatt ?*)

Leicestershire Second XI first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GA Smithsonc [unknown] b Hall139 270191 
PT Smithc Wyatt b Hall124 25716- 
LR Gardnerc Buxton b Millner2 21-- 
EF Phillipsnot out24 481- 
FG Fouldsc Lowe b Hall0 15-- 
+GA Hickinbottomc Buxton b Millner0 4-- 
JS Savageb Hall4 8-- 
CT Spencerb Hall3 3-- 
RC Smithnot out6 221- 
*JE Walshdid not bat      
FM Turnerdid not bat      
Extras(1 lb, 3 nb, 1 w)5
Total(7 wickets, declared, 104 overs)307
Fall of wickets:
1-260 (PT Smith), 2-270 (Smithson), 3-270 (Gardner), 4-272 (Foulds), 5-273 (Hickinbottom), 6-278 (Savage), 7-282 (Spencer)
Derbyshire Second XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hall27   6615-2
Furniss14   3620-4
Buxton1   040--
Millner29   5832--
Beet8   1170--
Holmes5   2150--
Mohan11   1350--
Short9   3250--

Derbyshire Second XI first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JA Holmesb Savage0 10-- 
FC Brailsfordb Spencer13 391- 
JD Shortst Hickinbottom b Walsh16 621- 
D Millnerst Hickinbottom b Walsh4 16-- 
+G Wyattc Hickinbottom b Walsh1 24-- 
IR Buxtonb Spencer1 2-- 
KF Mohanc Hickinbottom b Spencer8 151- 
GA Beetb Spencer11 192- 
JB Furnissc RC Smith b Walsh4 91- 
*G Lowenot out3 14-- 
D Hallc Phillips b Walsh0 12-- 
Extras(2 b)2
Total(all out, 29 overs)63
Fall of wickets:
1-1 (Holmes), 2-27 (Brailsford), 3-35 (Millner), 4-36 (Short), 5-37 (Buxton), 6-40 (Wyatt), 7-49 (Mohan), 8-56 (Beet), 9-60 (Lowe), 10-63 (Hall, 29 ov)
Leicestershire Second XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Spencer10   8274--
Savage5   0201--
Walsh14   8145--

Derbyshire Second XI second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
JA Holmesc Smithson b Savage25 751- 
FC Brailsfordc Walsh b Spencer28 333- 
JD Shortc and b Turner8 43-- 
D Millnerlbw b Turner1 22-- 
+G Wyattlbw b Savage4 111- 
IR Buxtonnot out36 7641 
KF Mohanb Savage5 171- 
GA Beetc Gardner b Savage1 8-- 
JB Furnissc Phillips b Savage0 4-- 
*G Lowest Hickinbottom b Turner13 172- 
D Hallb Savage2 13-- 
Extras(10 b, 1 nb)11
Total(all out, 61.2 overs)134
Fall of wickets:
1-49 (Brailsford), 2-72 (Holmes), 3-72 (Short), 4-77 (Wyatt), 5-77 (Millner), 6-92 (Mohan), 7-98 (Beet), 8-102 (Furniss), 9-123 (Lowe), 10-134 (Hall, 61.2 ov)
Leicestershire Second XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Spencer7   1341-1
Walsh8   1140--
Turner20   11303--

--> CT Spencer made his last appearance in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> GA Smithson (1) passed his previous highest score of 138 in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> CT Spencer achieved his best innings bowling analysis in Minor Counties Championship matches in the Derbyshire Second XI first innings (previous best was 4-42)
--> JS Savage achieved his best innings bowling analysis in Minor Counties Championship matches in the Derbyshire Second XI second innings (previous best was 6-60)

Fielder who caught GA Smithson and bowler of wide in Leicestershire Second XI's first innings unrecorded.
Play started 10 minutes late on first day and ended at 7.15





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive