Devon v Oxfordshire
Minor Counties Championship 1952
VenueThe Recreation Ground, Torquay on 25th, 26th August 1952 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossDevon won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsDevon 3; Oxfordshire 1
UmpiresC Fairservice, WA Smith
ScorersW Stutchbury, J Tyler
Close of play day 1

Devon first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*HD Faircloughb Surman49      
DH Coleb Alton56      
AF Irishnot out106      
NCF Bloyc Surman b Alton4      
NF Borrettb Alton31      
SGE Mountfordc Williams b Surman74      
JE Dickinsonlbw b Alton18      
+AH Holladayb Surman1      
P Atkinsonc Bush b Alton0      
NP Bloweyc Williams b Surman20      
DL Hainesc Inge b Surman12      
Extras(10 b, 8 lb, 4 nb)22
Total(all out, 105.4 overs)393
Fall of wickets:
1-106, 2-110, 3-121, 4-178, 5-315, 6-338, 7-339, 8-340, 9-370, 10-393 (105.4 ov)
Oxfordshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Banton22   4720--
Girling9   1390--
Laitt7   0290--
Alton43   21645--

Oxfordshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JF Mendlc Bloy b Haines32      
JE Bushlbw b Blowey6      
WH Millerb Haines35      
CCP Williamsc Dickinson b Blowey14      
D Bantonb Borrett26      
MA Girlingb Blowey18      
RDJ Surmanb Cole21      
+WW Ingec and b Cole22      
AD Pickeringb Cole0      
RE Altonb Cole14      
DJ Laittnot out1      
Extras(2 b)2
Total(all out, 80.1 overs)191
Fall of wickets:
1-7, 2-53, 3-82, 4-93, 5-125, 6-139, 7-175, 8-175, 9-178, 10-191 (80.1 ov)
Devon bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Atkinson6   3100--
Haines27   12542--
Blowey25   7613--
Borrett10   0381--

Oxfordshire second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
JF Mendlb Fairclough31      
JE Bushc Irish b Blowey17      
WH Millernot out122      
CCP Williamsb Irish59      
D Bantonc Cole b Fairclough15      
MA Girlingc Borrett b Fairclough0      
RDJ Surmannot out1      
+WW Ingedid not bat      
AD Pickeringdid not bat      
RE Altondid not bat      
DJ Laittdid not bat      
Extras(17 b, 3 lb)20
Total(5 wickets, 72 overs)265
Fall of wickets:
1-23, 2-52, 3-200, 4-262, 5-262
Devon bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cole7   2150--
Atkinson10   0300--
Blowey5   1221--
Haines16   1580--
Fairclough11   1273--
Borrett6   0260--
Dickinson3   170--
Bloy7   1450--
Irish5   371--
Mountford2   080--

--> JE Dickinson (1) passed his previous highest score of 16 in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> NP Blowey (1) passed his previous highest score of 16 in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> RDJ Surman achieved his best innings bowling analysis in Minor Counties Championship matches in the Devon first innings (previous best was 1-11)
--> RDJ Surman achieved his first five wickets in an innings in Minor Counties Championship matches in the Devon first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive