Devon v Surrey Second XI
Minor Counties Championship 1948
VenueThe County Cricket Ground, Exeter on 17th, 18th August 1948 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossToss not known
ResultMatch drawn
PointsDevon 3; Surrey Second XI 5
Close of play day 1

Devon first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
NH Humphriesb Westerman2      
PG Wrefordb Smith35      
AF Irishc REC Pratt b Smith1      
DA Davieslbw b Smith0      
KC Kinnersleyc Kirby b Westerman2      
RS Blackerb Smith0      
DH Coleb Smith4      
JH Stallibrassnot out16      
RG Carthewc Barrington b Bower13      
AH Holladayb Cox0      
RG Seldonb Cox9      
Total(all out, 40.1 overs)82
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-82 (40.1 ov)
Surrey Second XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Smith15   4255--
Westerman13   5252--
Watts6   0250--
Bower1   101--

Surrey Second XI first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AF Brazierb Cole8      
MJD Bowerb Davies37      
REC Prattc Davies b Irish5      
EA Wattslbw b Kinnersley32      
DE Prattb Cole1      
G Smithlbw b Cole1      
RR Bladesnot out44      
DF Coxnot out25      
GNG Kirbydid not bat      
KF Barringtondid not bat      
P Westermandid not bat      
Extras(6 b, 2 lb)8
Total(6 wickets, declared, 55 overs)161
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?
Devon bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cole18   3493--
Irish17   6181--
Humphries3   0160--
Kinnersley10   1331--
Davies6   0231--
Stallibrass1   0140--

Devon second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
NH Humphriesnot out23      
PG Wrefordc Westerman b Smith0      
AF Irishb Smith0      
DA Daviesc Kirby b Smith0      
KC Kinnersleynot out12      
RS Blackerdid not bat      
DH Coledid not bat      
JH Stallibrassdid not bat      
RG Carthewdid not bat      
AH Holladaydid not bat      
RG Seldondid not bat      
Total(3 wickets, 21 overs)35
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?
Surrey Second XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Smith9   6183--
Westerman9   380--
Cox3   090--

--> MJD Bower made his debut in Minor Counties Championship matches





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive