Oxford University v Marylebone Cricket Club
University Match 1914
VenueThe University Parks, Oxford on 28th, 29th, 30th May 1914 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
Players12 per side
TossToss not known
ResultMarylebone Cricket Club won by 48 runs
UmpiresAJ Atfield, HB Daft
Close of play day 1Marylebone Cricket Club (1) 231/8 (Holloway 13*, Stratton 20*)
Close of play day 2Marylebone Cricket Club (2) 175/6 (Cartwright 12*, Franklin 7*)

Marylebone Cricket Club first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RR Relfb Rucker84     
*WGM Sarelb Rucker3     
AE Relfc Davies b Rucker39     
AJ Evansb Rucker0     
SJ Peglerb Rucker0     
WAC Wilkinsonc Colman b Rucker29     
GHGM Cartwrightb Burton11     
+WB Franklinc Boddington b Burton14     
BH Hollowayc Naumann b Burton39     
HD Strattonb Jackson20     
H Watsonb Bristowe42     
GAC Sandemannot out0     
Extras(13 b, 4 lb, 4 nb, 1 w)22
Total(all out, 82 overs)303
Fall of wickets:
1-10, 2-97, 3-103, 4-103, 5-167, 6-168, 7-192, 8-193, 9-231, 10-299, 11-303 (82 ov)
Oxford University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Davies20   3680--
Rucker21   3696-1
Burton16   2443--
Naumann4   0280--
Bristowe13   35211-
Jackson8   3201-3

Oxford University first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
M Howellst Franklin b Sandeman0     
DJ Knightb AE Relf48     
*GRR Colmanb AE Relf36     
RA Boddingtonb AE Relf10     
DG Wiganb Pegler5     
+RT Stanyforthb Pegler4     
GL Jacksonb Pegler6     
FCG Naumannnot out41     
OC Bristoweb AE Relf1     
RC Burtonb Pegler10     
PH Daviesst Franklin b Pegler2     
CES Ruckerb Watson8     
Extras(20 b, 6 lb)26
Total(all out, 63.5 overs)197
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-90, 3-105, 4-116, 5-122, 6-128, 7-132, 8-134, 9-153, 10-155, 11-197 (63.5 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sandeman6   2141--
Pegler25   1945--
AE Relf25   11424--
Evans1   100--

Marylebone Cricket Club second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AJ Evansc Stanyforth b Bristowe37     
RR Relfc Knight b Burton45     
AE Relfb Bristowe1     
BH Hollowayc Burton b Wigan14     
*WGM Sarellbw b Wigan36     
WAC Wilkinsonb Wigan2     
GHGM Cartwrightnot out65     
+WB Franklinb Jackson12     
SJ Peglerb Davies3     
HD Strattonnot out14     
H Watsondid not bat      
GAC Sandemandid not bat      
Extras(22 b, 4 lb)26
Total(8 wickets, declared, 58 overs)255
Fall of wickets:
1-84, 2-92, 3-99, 4-136, 5-150, 6-157, 7-191, 8-202
Oxford University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Davies15   4551--
Jackson13   2581--
Burton8   1371--
Bristowe9   0502--
Naumann6   0150--
Wigan7   2143--

Oxford University second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
M Howellb AE Relf27     
DJ Knightc RR Relf b Watson130 15515- 
*GRR Colman hit wkt b Evans44     
RA Boddingtonc Sandeman b AE Relf12     
FCG Naumannb AE Relf8     
GL Jacksonb Pegler49     
+RT Stanyforthc AE Relf b Pegler4     
OC Bristowelbw b Cartwright3     
RC Burtonb Pegler6     
PH Daviesnot out0     
CES Ruckerb Pegler4     
DG Wiganabsent hurt
Extras(21 b, 4 lb, 1 w)26
Total(all out, 92.1 overs)313
Fall of wickets:
1-78, 2-182, 3-224, 4-226, 5-241, 6-260, 7-275, 8-284, 9-308, 10-313 (92.1 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sandeman7   5100-1
AE Relf25   7643--
Watson7   0341--
RR Relf12   2480--
Evans7   0251--
Cartwright10   1421--

--> HD Stratton (1) passed his previous highest score of 18 in first-class matches
--> H Watson (1) passed his previous highest score of 16 in first-class matches
--> RT Stanyforth made his debut in first-class matches
--> FCG Naumann (1) passed his previous highest score of 36 in first-class matches
--> GHGM Cartwright (2) passed his previous highest score of 38 in first-class matches
--> DJ Knight (2) passed his previous highest score of 90 in first-class matches
--> GL Jackson (2) passed his previous highest score of 19 in first-class matches
--> CES Rucker achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Marylebone Cricket Club first innings (previous best was 2-97)
--> DG Wigan achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Marylebone Cricket Club second innings (previous best was 1-4)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive