Cambridgeshire v Norfolk
Minor Counties Championship 1910 (North and East Division)
VenueFP Fenner's Ground, Cambridge on 18th, 19th August 1910 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossNorfolk won the toss and decided to bat
ResultNorfolk won by an innings and 198 runs
PointsCambridgeshire 0; Norfolk 5
Close of play day 1Cambridgeshire (1) 125/9 (Watts 25*, Coulson 3*)

Norfolk first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+RW Thurgarc Ling b Reid35     
CJH Treglownb Coulson55     
GA Stevensb Coulson18     
*GB Raikesb Hunt63     
M Falconlbw b Coulson1     
RW Collinsonc Tebbutt b Reid63     
GW Birkbeckc Roberson b Reid111     
TC Allsoppc Hunt b Reid27     
NW Stevensc Watts b Coulson9     
EJ Fulchernot out12     
E Gibsonnot out4     
Extras(? b, 0 lb, 1 nb, 6 w)24
Total(9 wickets, declared, 91 overs)422
Fall of wickets:
1-52, 2-94, 3-155, 4-157, 5-203, 6-278, 7-373, 8-397, 9-401
Cambridgeshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hunt21   110614-
Watts4   0130--
Pigg7   1440--
Reid13   07141-
Rose13   2590--
Coulson29   7814--
Tebbutt4   124011

Cambridgeshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
LJ Reidlbw b Gibson0     
F Robersonb Gibson15     
+AS Lingst Thurgar b Raikes63     
*HC Tebbuttc Thurgar b Gibson1     
OW Bocockc GA Stevens b Raikes14     
F Haywardb Raikes1     
WC Huntc and b Gibson0     
CH Piggc Falcon b Gibson0     
GH Wattsc GA Stevens b Gibson26     
GA Rosec Treglown b Raikes1     
H Coulsonnot out3     
Extras(? b, 0 lb, 0 nb, 2 w)3
Total(all out, 39.5 overs)127
Fall of wickets:
1-5, 2-29, 3-32, 4-77, 5-88, 6-89, 7-89, 8-96, 9-103, 10-127 (39.5 ov)
Norfolk bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Falcon9   13801-
Raikes11   04741-

Cambridgeshire second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
GH Wattsc Raikes b Allsopp47     
H Coulsonb Gibson0     
WC Huntb Falcon5     
+AS Lingc Allsopp b Falcon0     
OW Bocockc Thurgar b Falcon3     
LJ Reidb Gibson1     
*HC Tebbuttc and b Raikes15     
F Robersonc GA Stevens b Raikes10     
F Haywardc Collinson b Allsopp8     
CH Piggc Falcon b Raikes3     
GA Rosenot out0     
Extras(4 nb, 1 w)5
Total(all out, 37.4 overs)97
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-25, 3-25, 4-41, 5-42, 6-68, 7-81, 8-89, 9-?, 10-97 (37.4 ov)
Norfolk bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Falcon12   441314
Gibson15   6262--
Raikes7   2173--

--> RW Thurgar (1) equalled his previous highest score of 35 in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> CJH Treglown (1) passed his previous highest score of 35 in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> RW Collinson (1) passed his previous highest score of 30 in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> GW Birkbeck (1) passed his previous highest score of 62 in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> GW Birkbeck (1) made his first century in Minor Counties Championship matches

This card comes from the Minor Counties Research Project - research is continuing on this scorecard which can be expected to change.
Norfolk won this return match by an innings and 198 runs at 12.40 pm on the second day, after Cambridgeshire followed on 295 runs behind on first innings. As a consequence, they headed the North and East Division of the competition and qualified to meet Berkshire in the final. For the winners, G W Birbeck's 111 runs contained 13 fours, 6 threes and 8 twos, and was scored in around 100 minutes. There were 7 fours in Raikes's 63, 10 fours in Collinson's 63, and 5 fours in Treglown's 55. In the Norfolk innings, Birkbeck and Allsopp added 95 runs for the seventh wicket. For the losers, Ling top-scored with 63 that included 6 fours. Norfolk had also won when the teams had met at Norwich the previous week. The 547 runs scored on the first day were the second highest of the season.
[Missing: Umpires; extras breakdown; in Cambridgeshire second innings, fall of ninth wicket.]
Sources: Eastern Daily Press 19,20 August; Eastern Evening News 18,19 August; Norfolk Chronicle 27 August; Norwich Mercury 20 August; Cambridge Chronicle 19 August; Cambridge Independent Press 19,26 August; Newmarket Weekly News 19,26 August; The Sportsman 19,20 August; Cricket 1 September, p 381.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive