Carmarthenshire v Dorset
Minor Counties Championship 1910 (South and West Division)
VenueStradey Park, Llanelli on 3rd, 4th August 1910 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossCarmarthenshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultCarmarthenshire won by 162 runs
PointsCarmarthenshire 5; Dorset 0
Close of play day 1Carmarthenshire (2) 6/0 (Hughes-Morgan 5*, Davies 1*)

Carmarthenshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*D Hughes-Morganc Woolley b Sewell12     
I Evansst Gordon b Sewell77     
BP Reeslbw b Sewell23     
H Howellc Chester-Master b Sewell1     
AP Jamesc and b Sewell0     
SH Lockyerc and b Harrison16     
GT Gravellec Chester-Master b Sewell3     
GF Wheldonb Chester-Master19     
+W Daviesc Gordon b Chester-Master12     
E Geenot out0     
CP Lewisb Chester-Master0     
Extras(17 b, 4 lb)21
Total(all out, 83.3 overs)184
Fall of wickets:
1-13, 2-63, 3-69, 4-69, 5-108, 6-123, 7-161, 8-184, 9-184, 10-184 (83.3 ov)
Dorset bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sewell32   9476--
Cummins7   3190--
Harrison17   6301--
Woolley18   5360--

Dorset first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WH Arundellst Davies b Gee42     
FAS Sewellc and b Howell6     
WT Knightb Howell14     
HCB Cumminsc Evans b Howell7     
+GM Gordonc Evans b Gee26     
AM Harrisonb Howell1     
HF Hodgesc Davies b Gee41     
*CP Gooddenb Gee5     
E Chester-Masterlbw b Gee4     
HM Greenhillc Howell b Gee0     
AT Woolleynot out5     
Extras(1 lb)1
Total(all out, 37 overs)152
Fall of wickets:
1-7, 2-43, 3-53, 4-94, 5-97, 6-99, 7-105, 8-115, 9-147, 10-152 (37 ov)
Carmarthenshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Gee13   0436--
Howell18   2844--
James6   2240--

Carmarthenshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*D Hughes-Morganc Hodges b Woolley6     
+W Daviesb Sewell12     
BP Reesc Arundell b Woolley23     
I Evansc Hodges b Cummins2     
SH Lockyerc Sewell b Cummins18     
H Howellc and b Sewell11     
AP Jamesc and b Sewell40     
GT Gravellec and b Cummins30     
GF Wheldonb Gordon24     
E Geec Hodges b Cummins0     
CP Lewisnot out28     
Extras(15 b, 4 lb)19
Total(all out, 77.1 overs)213
Fall of wickets:
1-8, 2-31, 3-36, 4-56, 5-95, 6-107, 7-137, 8-137, 9-153, 10-213 (77.1 ov)
Dorset bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cummins19   9274--
Woolley16   4522--
Sewell26   5653--
Chester-Master6   1170--
Harrison5   190--

Dorset second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WH Arundellc Howell b Gee16     
*CP Gooddenc Gee b Howell0     
HCB Cumminsb Howell8     
+GM Gordonc Lockyer b Gee1     
HF Hodgesc Gee b Howell30     
FAS Sewellc Davies b Howell4     
AM Harrisonnot out14     
WT Knightc James b Gee5     
HM Greenhillc Lockyer b Gee1     
E Chester-Masterc Hughes-Morgan b Gee0     
AT Woolleyb James0     
Extras(4 b)4
Total(all out, 40.3 overs)83
Fall of wickets:
1-1, 2-22, 3-23, 4-44, 5-63, 6-63, 7-71, 8-75, 9-75, 10-83 (40.3 ov)
Carmarthenshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Howell18   7354--
Gee20   7405--

--> GF Wheldon made his last appearance in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> I Evans (1) passed his previous highest score of 70 in Minor Counties Championship matches

This card comes from the Minor Counties Research Project - research is continuing on this scorecard which can be expected to change.
Carmarthenshire won by 162 runs on the second day after Dorset required 246 runs to win. For the winners, Gee took 11 wickets in the match for 83 runs, while Howell took 8 for 119. There were 6 fours in Evans 77. Hodges hit 32 runs off one Howell over, the scoring strokes being 4, 6, 4, 6, 6 and 6. H F Hodges kept wicket in the Carmarthenshire second innings. Wheldon and Lewis added 60 for the tenth wicket in the Carmarthenshire second innings.
[Missing: Umpires; precise time completed.]
Sources: Carmarthenshire Scorebook; Llanelly Guardian 11 August; South Wales Daily News 4,5 August; South Wales Press 10 August; South Wales Daily Post 3,4 August; Western Mail 4,5 August; Dorset County Chronicle 11 August; Poole Herald 11 August; The Sportsman 4,5 August; Cricket 18 August, p 352.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive