Carmarthenshire v Cornwall
Minor Counties Championship 1910 (South and West Division)
VenueStradey Park, Llanelli on 29th, 30th July 1910 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossCarmarthenshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultCarmarthenshire won by an innings and 107 runs
PointsCarmarthenshire 5; Cornwall 0
Close of play day 1Cornwall (2) 11/2 (Tresawna 9*, Coad 2*)

Carmarthenshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BP Reesb Tresawna18     
I Evansb Whiting18     
H Howellb Trevarthen40     
GT Gravelleb Burnard-Lewman132     
+W Daviesb Prideaux0     
GF Wheldonc Vibart b Trevarthen5     
AP Jamesc Trevarthen b Tresawna2     
GT Wheldonc Bickford-Smith b Whiting6     
*CP Lewisc Davies b Burnard-Lewman2     
E Geenot out5     
DH Daviesb Burnard-Lewman0     
Total(all out, 76.1 overs)241
Fall of wickets:
1-32, 2-42, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-241 (76.1 ov)
Cornwall bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hawken13   3410--
Tresawna12   3372--
Trevarthen9   1392--
Whiting32   12732--
Vibart3   0180--
Prideaux4   0101--

Cornwall first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WH Coadb James2     
AS Whitworthb Gee11     
*H Tresawnac and b James0     
+RF Vibartb James42     
HS Prideauxc Evans b Howell1     
JC Bickford-Smithc James b Howell0     
C Trevarthenlbw b James7     
J Daviesnot out15     
E Hawkenb Howell0     
F Burnard-Lewmanc Lewis b Howell8     
FJ Whitingb James3     
Total(all out, 36.2 overs)105
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-25, 4-?, 5-60, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-105 (36.2 ov)
Carmarthenshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Howell9   0334--
Gee9   2341--
Gravelle3   230--

Cornwall second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
*H Tresawnab Gee9     
J Daviesb Howell0     
AS Whitworthb Howell0     
WH Coadb Gee4     
E Hawkenb Howell4     
C Trevarthenb Gee6     
+RF Vibartc [unknown] b Gee0     
JC Bickford-Smithb Gee5     
HS Prideauxrun out0     
F Burnard-Lewmanb Gee0     
FJ Whitingnot out1     
Total(all out, 22 overs)29
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-?, 3-12, 4-12, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-29 (22 ov)
Carmarthenshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Howell11   6183--
Gee11   3116--

--> GT Wheldon made his debut in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> GT Gravelle (1) passed his previous highest score of 28 in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> GT Gravelle (1) made his first century in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> F Burnard-Lewman achieved his best innings bowling analysis in Minor Counties Championship matches in the Carmarthenshire first innings (previous best was 0-14)
--> AP James achieved his best innings bowling analysis in Minor Counties Championship matches in the Cornwall first innings (previous best was 0-47)
--> AP James achieved his first five wickets in an innings in Minor Counties Championship matches in the Cornwall first innings

This card comes from the Minor Counties Research Project - research is continuing on this scorecard which can be expected to change.
Carmarthenshire won this match by an innings and 107 runs at 11.45 am on the second day with only 45 minutes needed by the home side to take the remaining eight Cornwall wickets. One newspaper report described the wicket on the second day as being 'very tricky' after heavy overnight rain. It was Carmarthenshire's first win in the Championship and they were to win again against the same opposition the following week. For the winners, there were 2 sixes and 20 fours in Gravelle's 132. Howell's 40 contained 7 fours. For Cornwall, Vibart top scored with 42 which included 3 sixes and 3 fours. The Cornwall second innings total of 29 was the lowest of the season. G T Wheldon played under the pseudonym of T Williams.
[Missing: Umpires; extras breakdown; fall of wickets; in Carmarthenshire innings duration of Gravelle's 132.]
Sources: Cambria Daily Leader 28,29 July; South Wales Press 3 August; South Wales Daily News 30 July; 1 August; South Wales Daily Post 29,30 July; Western Mail 30 July; 1 August; Royal Cornwall Gazette 4 August; Western Daily Mercury 30 July, 1 August; Western Morning News 30 July, 1 August; The Sportsman 30 July, 1 August; Cricket 11 August.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive