Glamorgan v Devon
Minor Counties Championship 1909 (West Division)
VenueCardiff Arms Park, Cardiff on 28th, 29th July 1909 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossDevon won the toss and decided to bat
ResultGlamorgan won by 8 wickets
PointsGlamorgan 5; Devon 0
Close of play day 1Devon (2) 109/9 (Waller 1*, Tamworth 2*)

Devon first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
FO Wilsonb Nash42      
GC Harrisonb Nash6      
WF Lightb Nash15      
CVL Hoomanb Maxwell9      
JF Shelleyb Hacker1      
+T Daviesb Maxwell11      
RG Cruwysb Maxwell3      
WF Sturtb Maxwell0      
RCS Wallerb Maxwell3      
*L Tamworthlbw b Maxwell0      
WF Christiannot out1      
Extras(5 lb, 1 w)6
Total(all out, 46.5 overs)97
Fall of wickets:
1-43, 2-65, 3-66, 4-67, 5-86, 6-92, 7-92, 8-96, 9-96, 10-97 (46.5 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Creber9   1290--
Nash23   10373--
Hacker9   4191--

Glamorgan first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
ER Sweet-Escottlbw b Christian3      
NVH Richesb Wilson59      
WJ Bancroftb Light18      
E Stapletonrun out5      
HG Symondsc and b Wilson7      
WS Hackerb Christian11      
*A Gibsonb Christian4      
J Maxwellb Christian13      
+J Bancroftc Cruwys b Wilson3      
A Nashc Sturt b Wilson1      
H Crebernot out0      
Extras(3 b, 2 nb, 1 w)6
Total(all out, 40.1 overs)130
Fall of wickets:
1-8, 2-60, 3-71, 4-93, 5-106, 6-106, 7-119, 8-125, 9-130, 10-130 (40.1 ov)
Devon bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Christian20   4484--
Waller4   1200--
Light5   1211--

Devon second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JF Shelleyb Hacker29      
CVL Hoomanc and b Maxwell5      
WF Lightb Maxwell7      
FO Wilsonrun out1      
GC Harrisonb Nash47      
WF Christianb Hacker0      
RG Cruwysb Creber0      
WF Sturtc and b Maxwell11      
+T Daviesb Maxwell4      
RCS Wallerc Stapleton b Nash1      
*L Tamworthnot out7      
Extras(2 b, 4 lb)6
Total(all out, 36.5 overs)118
Fall of wickets:
1-14, 2-26, 3-27, 4-61, 5-67, 6-68, 7-88, 8-104, 9-104, 10-118 (36.5 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Maxwell12   3294--
Creber6   1231--
Hacker6   3132--

Glamorgan second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
ER Sweet-Escottnot out36      
E Stapletonb Christian0      
WJ Bancroftb Light15      
NVH Richesnot out34      
HG Symondsdid not bat      
WS Hackerdid not bat      
*A Gibsondid not bat      
J Maxwelldid not bat      
+J Bancroftdid not bat      
A Nashdid not bat      
H Creberdid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 1 lb, 2 nb)4
Total(2 wickets, 37.3 overs)89
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-30
Devon bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Wilson5   1210--
Christian14   8131-1
Light9   3221--
Sturt1   030--
Hooman1   040--

--> FO Wilson (1) passed his previous highest score of 36 in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> E Stapleton made his last appearance in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> E Stapleton made his debut in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> J Maxwell achieved his best innings bowling analysis in Minor Counties Championship matches in the Devon first innings (previous best was 4-28)
--> J Maxwell achieved his first five wickets in an innings in Minor Counties Championship matches in the Devon first innings
--> FO Wilson achieved his best innings bowling analysis in Minor Counties Championship matches in the Glamorgan first innings (previous best was 0-12)

This card comes from the Minor Counties Research Project - research is continuing on this scorecard which can be expected to change.
Glamorgan won this return match by eight wickets at 1.00 pm on the second day. The match between the two sides at Exeter at the end of June had been drawn. For the winners, Maxwell took 10 wickets in the match for 35 runs, including 6 for 6 in the Devon first innings. There were 6 fours in Riches's 59. For the losers, Harrison top-scored with 47.
[Missing: Umpires.]
Sources: Glamorgan Scorebook; South Wales Daily News 29,30 July; Western Mail 29,30 July; Western Daily Mercury 29,30 July; Western Morning News 29,30 July; The Sportsman 29,30 July; Cricket 12 August.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive