Surrey Second XI v Berkshire
Minor Counties Championship 1909 (South Division)
VenuePark Lane, Reigate on 23rd, 24th July 1909 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossBerkshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsSurrey Second XI 3; Berkshire 0
Close of play day 1Surrey Second XI (1) 274 all out

Berkshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*CEMY Nepeanb Platt21      
AP Strangec Jackson b Platt58      
HV Whichelowb Edwards0      
GE Williamsb Platt10      
HW Shoosmithc Vigar b Platt1      
GM Hawksworthretired hurt16      
WO Hubbardc Rutty b Platt30      
HJ Tuttyc Jewell b Platt7      
+EF Rowenot out11      
H Barrettb Platt0      
Simpsonc Jackson b Blacklidge7      
Extras(5 b, 3 lb, 1 w)9
Total(all out, 58 overs)170
Fall of wickets:
1-32, 2-33, 3-46, 4-?, 5-138, 6-144, 7-157, 8-?, 9-170 (58 ov)
Surrey Second XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Webb7   02601-
Platt25   7537--
Edwards16   5471--
Blacklidge7   2181--
Jackson3   0170--

Surrey Second XI first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JEV Jewellb Hubbard20      
HE Brookerc Shoosmith b Simpson22      
WJ Abelc Tutty b Shoosmith39      
HG Blacklidgelbw b Simpson1      
+HE Vigarb Simpson8      
F Edwardsb Shoosmith8      
GJW Plattc Nepean b Simpson81      
*AWF Ruttyc Simpson b Tutty17      
GA Abelc Strange b Shoosmith29      
MT Jacksonnot out12      
HP Webbb Whichelow0      
Extras(30 b, 5 lb, 2 nb)37
Total(all out, 55.4 overs)274
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-274 (55.4 ov)
Berkshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Shoosmith23   2893--
Hubbard15   0801-2
Simpson11   3464--
Tutty5   1171--

Berkshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*CEMY Nepeanc Rutty b Platt34      
AP Strangeb Platt21      
HV Whichelownot out14      
GE Williamsb Platt10      
HW Shoosmithnot out7      
GM Hawksworthdid not bat      
WO Hubbarddid not bat      
HJ Tuttydid not bat      
+EF Rowedid not bat      
H Barrettdid not bat      
Simpsondid not bat      
Extras(9 b, 4 lb)13
Total(3 wickets, 32 overs)99
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?
Surrey Second XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Platt16   4343--
Edwards4   0230--
Blacklidge12   3290--

--> HJ Tutty made his debut in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> HJ Tutty made his last appearance in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> HE Brooker made his debut in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> GJW Platt (1) passed his previous highest score of 79 in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> GA Abel made his last appearance in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> HP Webb made his last appearance in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> Simpson achieved his best innings bowling analysis in Minor Counties Championship matches in the Surrey Second XI first innings

This card comes from the Minor Counties Research Project - research is continuing on this scorecard which can be expected to change.
Match drawn with Surrey 2nd XI winning on first innings. There was little play on the second day owing to frequent heavy showers, and the match was eventually abandoned as a draw. For Surrey, Platt took 10 wickets in the match for 87 runs, including 7 for 53 in the first innings. Platt also scored 81, which included 13 fours. In the Surrey innings, Platt and Rutty added over 50 runs for the seventh wicket, and Platt and G A Abel over 50 for the eighth. For the losers, Strange top-scored with 58 which included 5 fours. During the Berkshire first innings Hawksworth was hit on the head by a return from Brooker when taking a run. He fell to the ground and wrenched his right shoulder. Hawksworth was carried to the pavilion and, after receiving medical attention, he withdrew from the match.
[Missing: Umpires; fall of wickets; large partnerships; in Berkshire first innings what was the Berkshire score when Hawksworth retired hurt; Simpson's initials.]
Sources: Surrey Year Book 1909, p 116; Surrey Mirror and County Post 31 July (Michael Pearce); Berkshire Chronicle 31 July; Reading Mercury 7 August; Reading Observer 31 July; The Sportsman 24,26 July; Cricket 5 August, p 318.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive