Carmarthenshire v Glamorgan
Minor Counties Championship 1909 (West Division)
VenueStradey Park, Llanelli on 16th, 17th June 1909 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossGlamorgan won the toss and decided to bat
ResultGlamorgan won by an innings and 125 runs
PointsCarmarthenshire 0; Glamorgan 5
UmpiresR Barber, AT Chamberlain
Close of play day 1Carmarthenshire (2) 19/5 (Trubshaw 5*)

Glamorgan first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*TAL Whittingtonc W Davies b Gee10     
NVH Richesc W Davies b Gee36     
ER Sweet-Escottc and b Mills129     
WJ Bancroftc W Davies b Mills11     
HG Symondsc Mills b Howell28     
HH Sweet-Escottc and b Gee7     
WS Hackerb Howell35     
A Nashc W Davies b Mills14     
EA Preedyc JT Davies b Mills0     
H Creberc W Davies b Howell2     
+J Bancroftnot out6     
Extras(4 b, 8 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)14
Total(all out, 77.3 overs)292
Fall of wickets:
1-23, 2-70, 3-110, 4-131, 5-162, 6-262, 7-275, 8-281, 9-285, 10-292 (77.3 ov)
Carmarthenshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
JT Davies18   267011
Gee22   3573--
Howell15   2613--
Trubshaw6   2100--
Bevan4   0230--

Carmarthenshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
H Howellc WJ Bancroft b Nash13     
BP Reesc J Bancroft b Creber6     
I Evansc Nash b Creber0     
HE Johnb Nash1     
CS Trubshawb Nash0     
+W Daviesc J Bancroft b Creber0     
E Geec Hacker b Creber4     
SH Millsb Creber16     
JT Daviesc Nash b Creber13     
*CP Lewisnot out33     
JM Bevanlbw b Nash3     
Extras(7 b, 1 w)8
Total(all out, 36.3 overs)97
Fall of wickets:
1-12, 2-12, 3-19, 4-21, 5-27, 6-27, 7-36, 8-47, 9-76, 10-97 (36.3 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Creber18   9346--

Carmarthenshire second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
H Howellb Nash6     
BP Reesc WJ Bancroft b Creber0     
I Evansc Symonds b Creber0     
HE Johnc Preedy b Creber4     
CS Trubshawc WJ Bancroft b Creber25     
+W Daviesb Nash3     
*CP Lewisc J Bancroft b Creber4     
E Geenot out23     
SH Millsb Nash0     
JT Daviesc WJ Bancroft b Creber2     
JM Bevanc [unknown] b Creber1     
Extras(1 b, 1 lb)2
Total(all out, 27.1 overs)70
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-4, 3-6, 4-12, 5-19, 6-28, 7-57, 8-63, 9-69, 10-70 (27.1 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Nash14   4353--

--> HH Sweet-Escott made his debut in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> CS Trubshaw made his debut in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> SH Mills made his debut in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> HH Sweet-Escott made his last appearance in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> ER Sweet-Escott (1) passed his previous highest score of 104 in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> WS Hacker (1) passed his previous highest score of 32 in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> CP Lewis (1) passed his previous highest score of 10 in Minor Counties Championship matches

This card comes from the Minor Counties Research Project - research is continuing on this scorecard which can be expected to change.
Glamorgan won by an innings and 125 runs at 12.00 pm on the second day, requiring only half an hour to complete the match. For the winners, Creber and Nash bowled unchanged through both the Carmarthenshire innings. Creber took 13 wickets in the match for 67 runs, including 7 for 33 in the second innings, and Nash 7 for 90. There were 16 fours in E R Sweet-Escott's 129. In the Glamorgan innings E R Sweet-Escott and Hacker put on 100 runs for the sixth wicket.
[Missing: In the Glamorgan innings duration ogf Sweet-Escott's 129.]
Sources: Glamorgan Scorebook; South Wales Daily News 17,18 June; South Wales Press 23 June; Western Mail 17,18 June; The Sportsman 18 June; Cricket 1 July, p 230.
It is not known which Sweet-Escott caught Bevan





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive