Glamorgan v Durham
Minor Counties Championship 1905
VenueCardiff Arms Park, Cardiff on 31st July, 1st August 1905 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossDurham won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsGlamorgan 2; Durham 0
UmpiresCE Brown, R Humphrey
Close of play day 1Glamorgan (1) 208/7 (Bancroft 65*, Brain 16*)

Durham first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
R Bousfieldc Nash b Creber24  2- 
WS Dobsonb Creber30  4- 
*EW Elliotnot out99  11- 
AB Horsleyrun out (Creber)16  1- 
T Coulsonc Morgan b Russell22  3- 
RH Mallettb Russell5  -- 
G Turnbulllbw b Russell0  -- 
+J Kirtleyc Nash b Russell20  3- 
RY Brydonb Creber0  -- 
J Thackerayrun out5  1- 
T Smithc Brain b Nash1  -- 
Extras(13 b, 5 lb, 2 w)20
Total(all out, 81.2 overs)242
Fall of wickets:
1-52, 2-65, 3-101, 4-144, 5-154, 6-154, 7-196, 8-196, 9-236, 10-242 (81.2 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Creber32   58531-
Rattenbury18   16301-
Russell23   7534--

Glamorgan first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+NVH Richesc and b Brydon52  5- 
ER Sweet-Escottc Kirtley b Thackeray17  1- 
WJ Bancroftb Turnbull92  7- 
RA Gibbsb Smith11  2- 
HE Morganrun out10  -- 
W Russellc Turnbull b Smith0  -- 
A Gibsonc and b Turnbull11  -- 
GL Rattenburyc Bousfield b Turnbull12  2- 
*JH Brainnot out64  11- 
H Creberb Turnbull3  -- 
A Nashc Horsley b Turnbull3  -- 
Extras(10 b, 7 lb)17
Total(all out, 100.1 overs)292
Fall of wickets:
1-46, 2-100, 3-113, 4-130, 5-131, 6-160, 7-176, 8-264, 9-282, 10-292 (100.1 ov)
Durham bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Thackeray23   3691--
Smith20   4552--
Brydon14   5351--

Durham second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
R Bousfieldc Gibbs b Rattenbury23  3- 
AB Horsleyb Rattenbury37  6- 
*EW Elliotlbw b Nash55  8- 
WS Dobsonc Bancroft b Rattenbury10  1- 
T Coulsonc Morgan b Rattenbury9  1- 
RH Mallettnot out14  1- 
G Turnbullc Morgan b Rattenbury14  3- 
+J Kirtleyc and b Nash7  1- 
RY Brydonc Bancroft b Rattenbury4  1- 
J Thackeraynot out5  -- 
T Smithdid not bat      
Extras(3 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)5
Total(8 wickets, declared, 56 overs)183
Fall of wickets:
1-49, 2-68, 3-112, 4-137, 5-137, 6-153, 7-162, 8-173
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Creber6   12101-
Nash18   3562-1
Russell10   2450--
Rattenbury22   3566--

Glamorgan second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+NVH Richesnot out21  31 
ER Sweet-Escottc Thackeray b Smith25  1- 
WJ Bancroftb Turnbull5  1- 
RA Gibbsnot out9  1- 
HE Morgandid not bat      
W Russelldid not bat      
A Gibsondid not bat      
GL Rattenburydid not bat      
*JH Braindid not bat      
H Creberdid not bat      
A Nashdid not bat      
Extras(7 b)7
Total(2 wickets, 27 overs)67
Fall of wickets:
1-40, 2-45
Durham bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Turnbull14   7191--
Brydon3   160--
Smith8   0301--
Thackeray2   150--

--> H Creber reached 50 wickets in Minor Counties Championship matches for the season when taking his 1st wicket in the Durham first innings

This card comes from the Minor Counties Research Project - research is continuing on this scorecard which can be expected to change.
Source: Durham CCC scorebook with thanks to Brian Hunt
Drawn return match with Glamorgan winning on first innings. Durham had won the game between the two sides in June at West Hartlepool. On the second day, rain halted play in the morning session and an early lunch was taken. For the home team, there were 7 fours in Bancroft's 92, 11 fours in Brain's 64 not out, and 1 five and 5 fours in Riches's 52. In the Glamorgan first innings, Bancroft and Brain put on 88 runs for the eight wicket. For Durham, there were 11 fours and 8 fours respectively in Elliot's two innings of 99 not out and 55. The 43.1 overs bowled by Turnbull in the Glamorgan first innings was the third most in an innings during the season.
[Missing: Complete.]
Sources: Glamorgan Scorebook; Durham Scorebook; Western Mail 1,2 August; Newcastle Daily Chronicle 2 August; Newcastle Daily Journal 1,2 August; The Sportsman 1,2 August.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive