Cambridgeshire v Northumberland
Minor Counties Championship 1903
VenueFP Fenner's Ground, Cambridge on 24th, 25th June 1903 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossNorthumberland won the toss and decided to bat
ResultNorthumberland won by an innings and 83 runs
PointsCambridgeshire 0; Northumberland 3
UmpiresC Marshall, GJ Rye
Close of play day 1Cambridgeshire (1) 90 all out

Northumberland first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*FGH Claytonb Smoothy51      
CF Stanger-Leathesc Bellars b Bryan11      
J Hansellb Bellars84      
J Marshallc Watts b Tebbutt11      
W Milnec Watts b Hayward31      
G Simpsonb Bellars81      
FW Gillespiec and b Hayward7      
RGE Mortimerb Hayward9      
M Chambersc Hayward b Bellars1      
G Elseyc Pratt b Hayward15      
+L Greenwoodnot out3      
Total(all out, 87.2 overs)312
Fall of wickets:
1-45, 2-71, 3-87, 4-134, 5-267, 6-282, 7-282, 8-285, 9-305, 10-312 (87.2 ov)
Cambridgeshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Bryan25   3641--
Smoothy10   2331--
Gilbert3   0230--
Tebbutt12   2561--
Bellars7   0153--
JH Widdicombe2   0160--

Cambridgeshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
HEH Prattb Elsey5      
HC Tebbuttb Elsey2      
ED Gilbertc Greenwood b Simpson5      
DM Haywardc Clayton b Elsey15      
+GH Wattsnot out39      
O Smoothyc Mortimer b Marshall0      
J Widdicombec Milne b Elsey3      
FK Robinsonc Stanger-Leathes b Elsey4      
*JH Widdicombeb Marshall0      
W Bryanb Elsey12      
AE Bellarsb Elsey0      
Total(all out, 34.3 overs)90
Fall of wickets:
1-8, 2-9, 3-15, 4-?, 5-54, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-90 (34.3 ov)
Northumberland bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Simpson7   5141--
Marshall10   0232--

Cambridgeshire second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
HEH Prattb Marshall5      
HC Tebbuttc Gillespie b Elsey8      
ED Gilbertb Elsey9      
DM Haywardlbw b Simpson26      
+GH Wattsb Elsey61      
O Smoothyrun out5      
J Widdicombest Greenwood b Simpson1      
FK Robinsonnot out17      
*JH Widdicombec Hansell b Elsey0      
W Bryanb Chambers6      
AE Bellarsc Gillespie b Chambers1      
Total(all out, 42 overs)139
Fall of wickets:
1-7, 2-19, 3-24, 4-79, 5-90, 6-101, 7-122, 8-122, 9-129, 10-139 (42 ov)
Northumberland bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Elsey14   1494--
Marshall9   1201--
Clayton7   0170--
Simpson7   1352--
Chambers5   0182--

--> HEH Pratt made his debut in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> ED Gilbert made his debut in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> O Smoothy made his debut in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> J Widdicombe made his debut in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> HEH Pratt made his last appearance in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> O Smoothy made his last appearance in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> J Widdicombe made his last appearance in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> AE Bellars achieved his best innings bowling analysis in Minor Counties Championship matches in the Northumberland first innings (previous best was 0-17)

This card comes from the Minor Counties Research Project - research is continuing on this scorecard which can be expected to change.
Northumberland won by an innings shortly before lunch on the second day, after Cambridgeshire followed on 222 runs behind. For the winners, Elsey took 11 wickets in the match for 97 runs, including 7 for 48 in the Cambridgeshire first innings. There was 1 five and 7 fours in Hansell's 84, 10 fours in Simpson's 81 and 6 fours in Clayton's 51. In the Northumberland innings, Hansell and Simpson put on 133 runs for the fifth wicket, which was the second highest partnership for that wicket during the season. Watts's 61 for Cambridgeshire contained 1 five and 7 fours.
[Missing: Extras breakdown; part fall of wickets; precise time completed.]
Sources: Cambridge Daily News 24,25 June; Cambridgeshire Weekly News 26 June; Newcastle Daily Chronicle 25,26 June; Newcastle Daily Journal 25,26 June; Newcastle Daily Leader 25,26 June; Yorkshire Post 25,26 June; The Sportsman 25,26 June.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive