Glamorgan v Wiltshire
Minor Counties Championship 1902
VenueCardiff Arms Park, Cardiff on 19th, 20th May 1902 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossWiltshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultGlamorgan won by 7 wickets
PointsGlamorgan 3; Wiltshire 0
Close of play day 1Wiltshire (2) 39/1 (Awdry 26*, Snell 10*)

Wiltshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*AM Millerb Lowe1      
CS Awdryc WH Brain b Lowe0      
HS Snellc Russell b Lowe1      
S Whittakerb Nash5      
SJH Tauntonb Nash4      
T Smartc Lowe b Nash0      
HW Cobbb Lowe9      
+ES Fordb Nash0      
W Overtonb Russell21      
WRR Smithb Nash14      
ES Warrilownot out0      
Total(all out, 43.2 overs)59
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-2, 3-11, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-29, 8-29, 9-59, 10-59 (43.2 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Lowe19   8254--
Russell3   161--

Glamorgan first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
HE Morganc and b Smith4      
AJ Osbornec Whittaker b Smith0      
JG Clarklbw b Smith13      
*JH Brainc Taunton b Smith64      
W Russellc Taunton b Smith2      
WJ Bancroftc Snell b Smith3      
+WH Brainb Smith24      
AWC Cameronb Smith5      
H Creberb Overton10      
A Nashnot out13      
S Lowelbw b Smith4      
Total(all out, 55.4 overs)144
Fall of wickets:
1-3, 2-4, 3-22, 4-24, 5-32, 6-86, 7-105, 8-127, 9-127, 10-144 (55.4 ov)
Wiltshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Overton23   6521--
Smart3   0140--
Miller2   0110--

Wiltshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
ES Warrilowc Osborne b Creber1      
CS Awdryc WH Brain b Lowe35      
HS Snellb Lowe19      
S Whittakernot out36      
*AM Millerc Cameron b Creber0      
SJH Tauntonb Russell17      
T Smartc and b Russell6      
HW Cobbc Osborne b Russell1      
+ES Fordb Nash2      
W Overtonc and b Russell14      
WRR Smithb Nash2      
Total(all out, 64.4 overs)141
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-48, 3-?, 4-62, 5-94, 6-104, 7-109, 8-116, 9-135, 10-141 (64.4 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Lowe16   11252--
Cameron1   080--
Russell14   5334--
Creber13   4332--

Glamorgan second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
HE Morgannot out33      
AJ Osbornec and b Smith5      
JG Clarkc Smart b Smith2      
*JH Brainrun out10      
W Russellnot out8      
WJ Bancroftdid not bat      
+WH Braindid not bat      
AWC Camerondid not bat      
H Creberdid not bat      
A Nashdid not bat      
S Lowedid not bat      
Total(3 wickets, 14.2 overs)58
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?
Wiltshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Smart7   1320--

--> A Nash made his debut in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> HE Morgan (2) passed 1000 runs in Minor Counties Championship matches when he reached 30
--> S Lowe reached 200 wickets in Minor Counties Championship matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Wiltshire first innings
--> A Nash achieved his first five wickets in an innings in Minor Counties Championship matches in the Wiltshire first innings
--> WRR Smith achieved his best innings bowling analysis in Minor Counties Championship matches in the Glamorgan first innings (previous best was 8-73)

This card comes from the Minor Counties Research Project - research is continuing on this scorecard which can be expected to change.
This was one of the three matches being played to commence the 1902 Championship. Glamorgan won at 3.00 pm on the second day. For the winners, J H Brain's 64 contained 6 fours. For Wiltshire, Smith took 11 wickets in the match 91 runs, including 9 for 65 in the Glamorgan first innings, which was statistically the second best innings bowling performance of the season. Whitaker top-scored with 36. When batting in the Wiltshire second innings, Overton was hit by a return throw by Russell which damaged his foot. He carried on batting with Snell acting as his runner.
[Missing: Umpires; extras breakdown; part fall of wickets.]
Sources: The Cambrian 23 May; South Wales Daily News 20,21 May; South Wales Echo 19, 20 May; Western Mail 20,21 May; Devizes and Wiltshire Gazette 22 May; North Wilts Herald 23 May; Wiltshire Chronicle 24 May; Wiltshire Times; The Sportsman 20,21 May.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive