Glamorgan v Berkshire
Minor Counties Championship 1901
VenueCardiff Arms Park, Cardiff on 23rd, 24th August 1901 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossGlamorgan won the toss and decided to bat
ResultGlamorgan won by an innings and 172 runs
PointsGlamorgan 1; Berkshire -1
UmpiresWA Woof, S Wrigley
Close of play day 1Berkshire (1) 54/7 (Croome 4*)

Glamorgan first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
HE Morganc Henderson b Collins42     
AJ Osbornelbw b Croome16     
EW Jonesb Croom82     
*JH Brainc Henderson b Collins1     
WJ Bancroftc Henderson b Croome1     
+WH Brainc Croom b Croome101     
AWC Cameronb Croome8     
W Russellc Collins b Relf37     
R Lowec Goodliffe b Relf2     
H Crebernot out17     
S Lowec and b Croome33     
Extras(? b, 0 lb, 0 nb, 1 w)18
Total(all out, 96.2 overs)358
Fall of wickets:
1-45, 2-73, 3-83, 4-88, 5-205, 6-237, 7-295, 8-305, 9-306, 10-358 (96.2 ov)
Berkshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Relf18   3472--
Collins20   4752--
Brown4   190--
Croom6   2141--
Mercer2   080--
Goodliffe4   0180--

Berkshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*JA Gibbb S Lowe3     
D Mercerb Creber3     
+A Hendersonc JH Brain b Creber3     
LGA Collinsst WH Brain b Creber24     
EA Wattsb S Lowe9     
ACM Croomec WH Brain b S Lowe15     
CH Frithb S Lowe6     
CE Brownb Cameron0     
GV Goodliffeb S Lowe13     
AB Croomb S Lowe1     
RR Relfnot out0     
Extras(? b, 0 lb, 0 nb, 2 w)3
Total(all out, 44.5 overs)80
Fall of wickets:
1-3, 2-8, 3-25, 4-40, 5-44, 6-51, 7-54, 8-72, 9-77, 10-80 (44.5 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
S Lowe22.510366--
Creber14   32732-
Cameron8   3141--

Berkshire second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
ACM Croomec WH Brain b Creber9     
LGA Collinsb Russell19     
*JA Gibblbw b Russell52     
D Mercerb Russell4     
+A Hendersonb Russell6     
EA Wattsc Morgan b Creber4     
CE Brownb Creber0     
AB Croomb Russell3     
GV Goodliffec Cameron b Creber5     
RR Relfnot out2     
CH Frithabsent
Total(all out, 49.3 overs)106
Fall of wickets:
1-17, 2-51, 3-77, 4-96, 5-96, 6-96, 7-96, 8-104, 9-106 (49.3 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
S Lowe9   0390--
Russell16   6205--

--> D Mercer made his last appearance in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> LGA Collins made his last appearance in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> WH Brain (1) passed 1000 runs in Minor Counties Championship matches when he reached 26
--> S Lowe (1) passed his previous highest score of 28 in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> H Creber reached 200 wickets in Minor Counties Championship matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Berkshire second innings
--> H Creber reached 50 wickets in Minor Counties Championship matches for the season when taking his 1st wicket in the Berkshire second innings

This card comes from the Minor Counties Research Project - research is continuing on this scorecard which can be expected to change.
Glamorgan won this return match at 3.15 pm after enforcing the follow on.
The match earlier in the month at Reading had been drawn.
W H Brain was dismissed with his score on 97, but an umpire error in awarding 4 leg byes was reversed in his favour. For Glamorgan W H Brain's 101, an innings of 135 minutes, included 16 fours, 3 threes and 6 twos. and Jones's 82 contained 6 fours.
In the home team's innings, Jones and W H Brain put on 117 runs for the fifth wicket, which was the second highest for that wicket during the season, W H Brain and Russell 58 for the seventh wicket, and Creber and S Lowe 52 for the tenth.
The 169 runs conceded by Croome in the Glamorgan innings were the most by a bowler during the season.
For the visitors, Gibb's 52 contained 9 fours.
The Berkshire second innings total of 106 was the lowest containing an individual fifty.
[Missing: Extras breakdown; in Berkshire 2nd inns why Frith absent?]
Sources: South Wales Daily News 24,26 August; South Wales Echo 23,24 August; Western Mail 24,26 August; Berkshire Chronicle 31 August; The Sportsman 24,26 August.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive