Glamorgan v Surrey Second XI
Minor Counties Championship 1900
VenueCardiff Arms Park, Cardiff on 18th, 19th July 1900 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSurrey Second XI won the toss and decided to bat
ResultGlamorgan won by an innings and 11 runs
PointsGlamorgan 1; Surrey Second XI -1
Close of play day 1Glamorgan (1) 169/4 (JH Brain 62*, Bancroft 9*)

Surrey Second XI first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AH Stonerc Russell b Cameron18     
RF Penfoldc Morgan b Cameron30     
CE Wilsonb Cameron8     
A Bakerc and b Cameron55     
*KEM Barkerc Bancroft b Creber7     
H Thompsonc and b Russell40     
W Montgomeryst WH Brain b Creber32     
WC Smithc JH Brain b Creber4     
EHL Nicest WH Brain b Cameron5     
JW Keenenot out1     
+H Strudwickc R Lowe b Cameron3     
Extras(? b, 0 lb, 0 nb, 6 w)8
Total(all out, 65 overs)211
Fall of wickets:
1-49, 2-50, 3-60, 4-71, 5-141, 6-191, 7-202, 8-202, 9-210, 10-211 (65 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
S Lowe2   01202-
Creber25   66533-
Cameron24   0896--
R Lowe6   12201-
Russell7   191--
Rooney1   060--

Glamorgan first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AWC Cameronb Smith27     
EW Jonesc Keene b Montgomery33     
W Russelllbw b Stoner5     
HE Morganb Nice26     
*JH Brainc Penfold b Smith102     
WJ Bancroftc Thompson b Nice50     
R Loweb Montgomery7     
+WH Brainb Thompson36     
RA Rooneyc Strudwick b Nice14     
H Crebernot out25     
S Loweb Nice22     
Extras(12 b, 9 lb, 1 nb)22
Total(all out, 110.1 overs)369
Fall of wickets:
1-46, 2-53, 3-78, 4-147, 5-229, 6-259, 7-259, 8-295, 9-322, 10-369 (110.1 ov)
Surrey Second XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Keene17   3410--
Stoner13   3241--
Montgomery18   5622--
Smith15   2692--
Barker2   0180--
Wilson3   080--
Thompson6   2171--

Surrey Second XI second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
A Bakerc and b Cameron15     
AH Stonerb Russell37     
CE Wilsonb R Lowe24     
RF Penfoldlbw b Russell3     
H Thompsonc WH Brain b Creber41     
W Montgomeryc Cameron b Creber1     
*KEM Barkerc R Lowe b Russell0     
WC Smithc Rooney b Creber17     
EHL Niceb Russell0     
JW Keenest WH Brain b Creber0     
+H Strudwicknot out2     
Extras(6 b, 1 lb)7
Total(all out, 59.1 overs)147
Fall of wickets:
1-26, 2-59, 3-62, 4-107, 5-114, 6-127, 7-127, 8-127, 9-?, 10-147 (59.1 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cameron10   0421--
Russell20   7284--
R Lowe5   0241--

--> JH Brain (1) passed his previous highest score of 88 in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> JH Brain (1) made his first century in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> WJ Bancroft (1) passed 1000 runs in Minor Counties Championship matches when he reached 23
--> AWC Cameron achieved his best innings bowling analysis in Minor Counties Championship matches in the Surrey Second XI first innings (previous best was 0-17)
--> AWC Cameron achieved his first five wickets in an innings in Minor Counties Championship matches in the Surrey Second XI first innings

This card comes from the Minor Counties Research Project - research is continuing on this scorecard which can be expected to change.
Glamorgan won this return match by an innings and 11 runs at 4.40 pm on the second day. Glamorgan had also won when the two sides met at The Oval in June. For the winners, J H Brain's 102 included 17 fours, 1 three and 4 twos. Because he had injured a knee when fielding in the Surrey first innings, his brother acted as a runner. He did not field in the Surrey second inning and Nash, the Cardiff professional, acted as substitute. Bancroft scored 50. For the losers, Baker's 55 contained 5 fours. The Glamorgan victory was all the more creditable because S Lowe was suffering from the after affects of a serious elbow injury and only bowled 2 overs.
[Missing: Umpires; in Surrey 1st inns extras breakdown; in Surrey 2nd inns part batting order, and fall of 9th wicket; in Glamorgan inns duration of J H Brain's 102, and boundaries in Bancroft's 50.]
Sources: South Wales Daily News 19,20 July; South Wales Echo 18,19 July; Western Mail 19,20 July; Surrey Year Book 1900, p 123; The Sportsman 20 July.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive