Berkshire v Glamorgan
Minor Counties Championship 1899
VenueCounty Ground, Kensington Road, Reading on 9th, 10th August 1899 (2-day match)
Balls per over5
TossGlamorgan won the toss and decided to bat
ResultGlamorgan won by 10 wickets
PointsBerkshire -1; Glamorgan 1
Close of play day 1Berkshire (1) 135/5 (Barrett 6*, Hutson 0*)

Glamorgan first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
HE Morganc ER Morres b Hutson35     
EW Joneslbw b Croome30     
HB Letcherc Watts b Barker4     
W Russellnot out86     
*JH Brainc Bedding b Croome8     
WJ Bancroftb Barrett3     
+WH Brainc Dauglish b Barrett18     
R Lowec Hutson b Barrett3     
RA Rooneyc Chapman b Barrett9     
H Creberb ER Morres18     
S Loweb Croome28     
Total(all out, 91.3 overs)264
Fall of wickets:
1-53, 2-73, 3-77, 4-101, 5-104, 6-150, 7-160, 8-?, 9-213, 10-264 (91.3 ov)
Berkshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Barrett29   9654--
Barker18   7541--
Bedding13   6350--
Hutson7   0231--
Dauglish3   0180--
ER Morres5   261--

Berkshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*ACM Croomec WH Brain b Creber9     
LP Collinsc R Lowe b S Lowe10     
HFM Morresc Bancroft b Creber59     
ER Morresc JH Brain b Creber51     
FE Chapmanlbw b Letcher0     
H Barrettc R Lowe b S Lowe14     
HW Hutsonlbw b Creber2     
MJ Dauglishst WH Brain b Creber0     
+EA Wattsc Morgan b Creber15     
W Barkerb S Lowe1     
R Beddingnot out7     
Extras(? b, ? lb, ? nb, 1 w)9
Total(all out, 78.3 overs)177
Fall of wickets:
1-10, 2-26, 3-113, 4-118, 5-135, 6-142, 7-146, 8-146, 9-151, 10-177 (78.3 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
S Lowe30   86031-
Russell10   3280--
Letcher8   2141--

Berkshire second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
LP Collinsc WH Brain b Creber4     
*ACM Croomeb Russell31     
HFM Morresc JH Brain b Creber30     
ER Morresc Morgan b Creber7     
+EA Wattsc Rooney b Creber0     
H Barrettc Rooney b Creber9     
HW Hutsonc R Lowe b Creber14     
FE Chapmanc and b S Lowe23     
MJ Dauglishst WH Brain b Creber30     
W Barkerc Morgan b Creber0     
R Beddingnot out0     
Total(all out, 62.3 overs)155
Fall of wickets:
1-11, 2-49, 3-70, 4-70, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-155, 9-155, 10-155 (62.3 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Russell21   10331--
S Lowe17   4341--

Glamorgan second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
HE Morgannot out53     
EW Jonesnot out16     
HB Letcherdid not bat      
W Russelldid not bat      
*JH Braindid not bat      
WJ Bancroftdid not bat      
+WH Braindid not bat      
R Lowedid not bat      
RA Rooneydid not bat      
H Creberdid not bat      
S Lowedid not bat      
Extras(? b, ? lb, 1 nb, ? w)2
Total(no wicket, 16.3 overs)71
Berkshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Barrett3   0110--
Bedding3   0160--
Barker3   070-1
Croome3   040--
Dauglish2   0180--

--> S Lowe (1) passed his previous highest score of 21 in Minor Counties Championship matches

This card comes from the Minor Counties Research Project
Glamorgan won by 10 wickets at 4.00 pm on the second day, after Berkshire had followed on 87 runs behind on first innings.
The failure to save the follow-on cost Berkshire the match. For the victors, Creber took 14 wickets in the match for 147 runs, including 8-81 in the second innings. It was statistically the third best match bowling performance of the season. There were 13 fours in Russell's 86 not out, and Morgan scored 53 not out. In the Glamorgan first innings, Russell and S Lowe added 51 runs for the last wicket. For the losers, H F M Morres scored 59 and E R Morres 51. Watts kept wicket for Berkshire, so that Dauglish's hands could recover from injury.
[Missing: Umpires; extras breakdown; part fall of wickets; in Glamorgan 2nd inns boundaries in Morgan's 53 not out; in Berkshire 1st inns boundaries in H F M Morres's 59 and E R Morres's 51.]
Sources: Berkshire Chronicle 12 August; Reading Mercury 19 August; Reading Standard 11 August; South Wales Daily News 10,11 August; South Wales Echo 9,10 August; Western Mail 10,11 August; The Sportsman 10,11 August.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2019 CricketArchive