Ireland v Sri Lanka
ICC World Cup 2006/07 (Super Eight)
VenueQueen's Park (New), St George's on 18th April 2007 (50-over match)
Balls per over6
TossSri Lanka won the toss and decided to field
ResultSri Lanka won by 8 wickets
PointsIreland 0; Sri Lanka 2
UmpiresMR Benson (England), BR Doctrove
TV umpireDJ Harper (Australia)
RefereeBC Broad (England)
Reserve UmpireAleem Dar (Pakistan)
Man of the MatchMF Maharoof
ArticlesMaharoof and Murali run through Ireland
Audio-VideoEnglish Tenth Audio Summary
 English Ninth Audio Summary
 English Eighth Audio Summary
 English Seventh Audio Summary
 List of all audio-video clips
PicturesFarveez Maharoof delivers a ball
Ball-by-ballInnings 1, Innings 2

Ireland inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
JP Brayc Arnold b Maharoof2029324-68.97
WTS Porterfieldc Jayasuriya b Maharoof1751791-33.33
AC Bothac Sangakkara b Maharoof022--0.00
EJG Morganc Sangakkara b Maharoof011--0.00
+NJ O'Brienc Sangakkara b Muralitharan42846--14.29
KJ O'Brienc Jayasuriya b Muralitharan2414--50.00
KED Carrollb Muralitharan021--0.00
*DT Johnstonrun out (Maharoof)045--0.00
WK McCallanlbw b Muralitharan0910--0.00
D Langford-Smithlbw b Vaas1821292185.71
WB Rankinnot out717201-41.18
Extras(5 lb, 2 nb, 2 w)9
Total(all out, 125 minutes, 27.4 overs)77
Fall of wickets:
1-28 (Bray, 7.3 ov), 2-28 (Botha, 7.5 ov), 3-28 (Morgan, 7.6 ov), 4-46 (Porterfield, 17.6 ov), 5-48 (NJ O'Brien, 18.2 ov), 6-48 (Carroll, 18.4 ov), 7-49 (Johnston, 19.4 ov), 8-49 (KJ O'Brien, 20.1 ov), 9-54 (McCallan, 22.4 ov), 10-77 (Langford-Smith, 27.4 ov)
Sri Lanka bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Kulasekara7   3100---1.43
Maharoof10   3254-115.002.50
Muralitharan5   01942-7.503.80

Sri Lanka inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
WU Tharangac Porterfield b Rankin075--0.00
ST Jayasuriyanot out24205131120.00
+KC Sangakkarac Carroll b Langford-Smith109151-111.11
*DPMD Jayawardenenot out39273061144.44
LPC Silvadid not bat      
TM Dilshandid not bat      
RP Arnolddid not bat      
MF Maharoofdid not bat      
WPUJC Vaasdid not bat      
KMDN Kulasekaradid not bat      
M Muralitharandid not bat      
Extras(3 nb, 5 w)8
Total(2 wickets, 51 minutes, 10 overs)81
Fall of wickets:
1-1 (Tharanga, 0.6 ov), 2-25 (Sangakkara, 3.2 ov)
Ireland bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Rankin4   03612324.009.00
Langford-Smith3   02913-18.009.67
Botha1   040---4.00
KJ O'Brien1   040---4.00
Carroll1   080---8.00

--> Ireland powerplay 1: overs 1 to 10 (34/3)
--> Ireland powerplay 2 (chosen by the fielding side): overs 11 (34/3) to 15
--> Ireland powerplay 3 (chosen by the fielding side): overs 16 to 20
--> Ireland innings: 50 in 20.4 overs
--> Sri Lanka innings: 50 in 5.5 overs
--> KED Carroll made his debut in World Cup matches
--> D Langford-Smith passed his previous highest score of 17 in ODI matches
--> D Langford-Smith passed his previous highest score of 17 in World Cup matches
--> DPMD Jayawardene passed 500 runs in World Cup matches when he reached 2
--> MF Maharoof reached 100 wickets in ListA matches when he dismissed EJG Morgan, his 3rd wicket in the Ireland innings
--> M Muralitharan reached 450 wickets in ODI matches when he dismissed KJ O'Brien, his 3rd wicket in the Ireland innings
--> M Muralitharan achieved his best innings bowling analysis in World Cup matches in the Ireland innings (previous best was 4-28)

Ireland innings
Official Attendance - 8,000
ST Jayasuriya (15) and DPMD Jayawardene (35) added 50 in 37 balls for the Sri Lanka 3rd wicket





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive