Essex v Surrey
Liverpool Victoria County Championship 2006 (Division 2)
VenueCastle Park Cricket Ground, Colchester on 16th, 17th, 18th August 2006 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSurrey won the toss and decided to bat
ResultEssex won by an innings and 2 runs
PointsEssex 22 (Batting 5, Bowling 3); Surrey 5 (Batting 3, Bowling 2)
UmpiresAA Jones, RA Kettleborough
ScorersAE Choat (Essex), LM Rhodes (Surrey)
Close of play day 1Essex (1) 32/2 (Pettini 9*, Bopara 7*; 10 overs)
Close of play day 2Essex (1) 399/6 (Foster 71*, Middlebrook 41*; 114 overs)

Surrey first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SA Newmanc Foster b Bopara41547381 
+JN Battyc Chopra b Tudor414221- 
SJ Waltersc Foster b Bichel41459210- 
*MA Butcherc Foster b Bopara617141- 
AD Brownlbw b Bichel3639487- 
Azhar Mahmoodc Phillips b Bichel5971- 
IDK Salisburyc Pettini b Middlebrook7410514215- 
RS Clintonc Middlebrook b Bopara1149682- 
NC Sakernot out581431489- 
ND Doshic Flower b Bopara3269675- 
Mohammad Akramc Foster b Bopara61014-1 
Extras(4 b, 6 nb, 6 w)16
Total(all out, 91.5 overs)330
Fall of wickets:
1-17 (Batty), 2-66 (Newman), 3-88 (Butcher), 4-128 (Walters), 5-134 (Azhar Mahmood), 6-147 (Brown), 7-204 (Clinton), 8-259 (Salisbury), 9-314 (Doshi), 10-330 (Mohammad Akram, 91.5 ov)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Bichel22   58031-
Tudor15   4661-2
Westfield10   2470-1
Phillips12   4340--
Middlebrook11   1241--

Essex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
V Choprac Batty b Azhar Mahmood1425212- 
ML Pettinic Saker b Mohammad Akram9720625881 
MS Westfieldb Azhar Mahmood011-- 
RS Boparalbw b Walters94138193121 
A Flowerc sub b Saker2442604- 
*RC Iranic Walters b Doshi3859797- 
+JS Fosterc Walters b Azhar Mahmood7414818110- 
JD Middlebrookst Batty b Doshi113193233141 
AJ Bichelc Saker b Doshi1428352- 
TJ Phillipsnot out38547341 
AJ Tudorc Brown b Doshi033-- 
Extras(3 b, 13 lb, 8 nb)24
Total(all out, 148.5 overs)530
Fall of wickets:
1-23 (Chopra), 2-23 (Westfield), 3-193 (Bopara), 4-232 (Pettini), 5-246 (Flower), 6-310 (Irani), 7-404 (Foster), 8-435 (Bichel), 9-530 (Middlebrook), 10-530 (Tudor, 148.5 ov)
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Mohammad Akram28   2981-2
Azhar Mahmood28   6723-1
Saker22   11011-1
Salisbury13   2560--
Walters7   3211--
Brown12   1310--

Surrey second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SA Newmanc Flower b Phillips2579853- 
+JN Battyb Bichel1231252- 
SJ Waltersc Foster b Tudor41727-- 
*MA Butcherrun out626441- 
AD Brownc Flower b Westfield631161409- 
RS Clintonlbw b Bichel1242402- 
Azhar Mahmoodc Pettini b Middlebrook2651643- 
IDK Salisburyb Middlebrook1438461- 
NC Sakerc Bopara b Middlebrook913171- 
ND Doshic Foster b Bichel21419-- 
Mohammad Akramnot out89111- 
Extras(9 b, 7 lb, 1 w)17
Total(all out, 72.4 overs)198
Fall of wickets:
1-29 (Batty), 2-39 (Walters), 3-57 (Newman), 4-63 (Butcher), 5-100 (Clinton), 6-154 (Azhar Mahmood), 7-170 (Brown), 8-187 (Saker), 9-188 (Salisbury), 10-198 (Doshi, 72.4 ov)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Tudor10   41611-
Middlebrook24   5513--
Phillips18   3471--
Westfield6   1151--

--> The match was scheduled for four days but completed in three.
--> Essex score at 130 overs in the first innings was 438-8
--> SJ Walters made his debut in first-class matches
--> SJ Walters made his debut in County Championship matches
--> AD Brown (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 23
--> NC Saker (1) passed his previous highest score of 13 in first-class matches
--> NC Saker (1) passed his previous highest score of 13 in County Championship matches
--> JD Middlebrook (1) 100 in 172 balls, 210 minutes with 12 fours and 1 six
--> RS Bopara achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches when he dismissed Mohammad Akram in the Surrey first innings (previous best was 4-93)
--> RS Bopara achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches when he dismissed Mohammad Akram in the Surrey first innings (previous best was 4-93)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive