Leicestershire v Surrey
Frizzell County Championship 2002 (Division 1)
VenueGrace Road, Leicester on 14th, 15th, 16th August 2002 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSurrey won the toss and decided to bat
ResultSurrey won by 7 wickets
PointsLeicestershire 5 (Batting 2, Bowling 3); Surrey 20 (Batting 5, Bowling 3)
UmpiresMJ Harris, AA Jones
ScorerGA York (Leicestershire)
Close of play day 1Surrey (1) 454/6 (Clarke 52*, Tudor 8*; 104 overs)
Close of play day 2Leicestershire (1) 265/6 (Burns 16*, DeFreitas 8*; 77 overs)

Surrey first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
IJ Wardlbw b Whiley28851042-  
+JN Battylbw b Maddy28781084-  
MA Butcherc Burns b Maddy11617021221-  
MR Ramprakashc Maddy b Whiley01416--  
AD Brownc Ward b Maddy10497151142  
*AJ Hollioakec Burns b Ward807491131  
R Clarkec Burns b Maddy95150167141  
AJ Tudorlbw b DeFreitas83530--  
Mushtaq Ahmedc Burns b DeFreitas1219182-  
MP Bicknellnot out2344742-  
J Ormondb Maddy614141-  
Extras(2 b, 6 lb, 16 nb, 16 w)40
Total(all out, 128.4 overs)540
Fall of wickets:
1-61 (Ward), 2-63 (Batty), 3-74 (Ramprakash), 4-285 (Brown), 5-342 (Butcher), 6-419 (Hollioake), 7-458 (Tudor), 8-474 (Mushtaq Ahmed), 9-526 (Clarke), 10-540 (Ormond)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
DeFreitas34   6912-1
Malcolm22   311401-
Grove10   06301-
Whiley22   485257
Kaif7   0430--
Ward8   0321--

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
TR Wardc Brown b Tudor3955677-  
*IJ Sutcliffec Batty b Mushtaq Ahmed481552027-  
DL Maddylbw b Mushtaq Ahmed81144194121  
DI Stevensb Bicknell1524262-  
M Kaiflbw b Mushtaq Ahmed1319193-  
RJ Cunliffeb Ormond822222-  
+ND Burnsnot out2960824-  
PAJ DeFreitasb Mushtaq Ahmed825301-  
JO Groveb Mushtaq Ahmed414151-  
MJA Whileyrun out087--  
DE Malcolmc Batty b Ormond46101-  
Extras(10 b, 11 lb, 14 nb, 6 w)41
Total(all out, 87.3 overs)290
Fall of wickets:
1-65 (Ward), 2-167 (Sutcliffe), 3-196 (Stevens), 4-225 (Kaif), 5-234 (Maddy), 6-240 (Cunliffe), 7-271 (DeFreitas), 8-283 (Grove), 9-285 (Whiley), 10-290 (Malcolm)
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Bicknell15   1761-2
Tudor18   6581-4
Hollioake2   018021
Mushtaq Ahmed30   7715--
Butcher1   100--

Leicestershire second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
TR Wardlbw b Bicknell1632343-  
*IJ Sutcliffec Brown b Bicknell6414017610-  
DL Maddylbw b Ormond9414118916-  
DI Stevensc Ward b Mushtaq Ahmed1434313-  
M Kaiflbw b Tudor43749251  
+ND Burnsc sub b Mushtaq Ahmed1135392-  
RJ Cunliffec Brown b Tudor424251-  
PAJ DeFreitasc Butcher b Tudor013--  
JO Groveb Tudor31016--  
MJA Whileyst Batty b Mushtaq Ahmed131110-1  
DE Malcolmnot out4211-  
Extras(8 b, 5 lb, 10 nb)23
Total(all out, 83.1 overs)289
Fall of wickets:
1-26 (Ward), 2-182 (Sutcliffe), 3-203 (Stevens), 4-219 (Maddy), 5-250 (Burns), 6-267 (Cunliffe), 7-269 (DeFreitas), 8-270 (Kaif), 9-285 (Whiley), 10-289 (Grove)
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Bicknell16   2412--
Butcher3   1220--
Mushtaq Ahmed33   71153-2
Ormond14   2441--

Surrey second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
IJ Wardc Maddy b Whiley6521-  
+JN Battyc Maddy b Malcolm43181-  
MA Butcherc Burns b Malcolm8841-  
MR Ramprakashnot out512111-  
AD Brownnot out141082-  
*AJ Hollioakedid not bat      
R Clarkedid not bat      
AJ Tudordid not bat      
J Ormonddid not bat      
Mushtaq Ahmeddid not bat      
MP Bicknelldid not bat      
Extras(1 lb, 2 nb, 2 w)5
Total(3 wickets, 6.1 overs)42
Fall of wickets:
1-8 (Ward), 2-12 (Batty), 3-21 (Butcher)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Malcolm3   072--

--> The match was scheduled for four days but completed in three.
--> MA Butcher (1) 100 in 156 balls, 191 minutes with 19 fours
--> AD Brown (1) 100 in 91 balls, 142 minutes with 14 fours and 2 sixes
--> M Kaif made his debut in County Championship matches
--> JO Grove made his last appearance in County Championship matches
--> MJA Whiley (2) equalled his previous highest score of 13 in first-class matches
--> MJA Whiley (2) equalled his previous highest score of 13 in County Championship matches
--> M Kaif made his debut for Leicestershire in first-class matches





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive