Glamorgan v Leicestershire
CricInfo Championship 2001 (Division 1)
VenueSophia Gardens, Cardiff on 18th, 19th, 20th, 21st July 2001 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossLeicestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultLeicestershire won by an innings and 90 runs
PointsGlamorgan 3 (Batting 1, Bowling 2); Leicestershire 20 (Batting 5, Bowling 3)
UmpiresTE Jesty, KE Palmer
ScorerGA York (Leicestershire)
Close of play day 1Leicestershire (1) 210/1 (Sutcliffe 86*, Smith 7*; 48 overs)
Close of play day 2Glamorgan (1) 52/1 (James 24*, Maynard 20*; 19 overs)
Close of play day 3Glamorgan (2) 15/2 (Maynard 6*, Powell 5*; 7 overs)

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
TR Wardc Dale b Watkin10912115114- 
IJ Sutcliffeb Watkin20332140726- 
BF Smithlbw b Watkin11718622212- 
A Habibnot out729412851 
Shahid Afridic James b Jones259-- 
DL Maddyc SD Thomas b Watkin67131- 
+ND Burnsc Powell b Croft2415195- 
*VJ Wellsc Watkin b SD Thomas3442353- 
JM Dakinst Wallace b Croft633-1 
PAJ DeFreitasc Wallace b Croft011-- 
DE Malcolmb SD Thomas025-- 
Extras(8 b, 5 lb, 2 w)15
Total(all out, 132.5 overs)588
Fall of wickets:
1-198 (Ward), 2-427 (Smith), 3-454 (Sutcliffe), 4-463 (Shahid Afridi), 5-482 (Maddy), 6-521 (Burns), 7-580 (Wells), 8-587 (Dakin), 9-587 (DeFreitas), 10-588 (Malcolm)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jones20   110111-
Watkin31   61264--
Dale6   1180--
SD Thomas20.511172--
Croft36   61453--
Cosker19   2680--

Glamorgan first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*SP Jamesc Burns b DeFreitas2468853- 
IJ Thomasc Smith b DeFreitas51722-- 
MP Maynardrun out3166843- 
MJ Powellc Sutcliffe b Malcolm1544582- 
RDB Croftc Smith b DeFreitas8911315616- 
+MA Wallacec Burns b Malcolm21314-- 
A Dalelbw b DeFreitas2065752- 
SD Thomasc Sutcliffe b Dakin49151- 
DA Coskerc Wells b DeFreitas01721-- 
SL Watkinc Ward b DeFreitas71117-- 
SP Jonesnot out6771- 
Extras(2 b, 4 lb, 2 nb)8
Total(all out, 71.3 overs)211
Fall of wickets:
1-8 (IJ Thomas), 2-57 (James), 3-65 (Maynard), 4-106 (Powell), 5-110 (Wallace), 6-181 (Dale), 7-192 (SD Thomas), 8-198 (Croft), 9-204 (Cosker), 10-211 (Watkin)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Malcolm16   5502--
Dakin13   4481--
Shahid Afridi13   3220--
Wells6   2200--

Glamorgan second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
*SP Jamesc Wells b Malcolm042-- 
IJ Thomasc Burns b Dakin21220-- 
MP Maynardc Burns b Dakin27631352- 
MJ Powellc Burns b Malcolm164486-- 
A Dalec Shahid Afridi b Malcolm89109124131 
RDB Croftc Burns b Malcolm4060766- 
+MA Wallacec Burns b Malcolm718241- 
SD Thomasc Smith b Dakin69771018- 
DA Coskerc Smith b DeFreitas136896-- 
SL Watkinnot out01219-- 
SP Jonesc Maddy b DeFreitas42118-- 
Extras(4 b, 8 lb, 2 nb, 6 w)20
Total(all out, 81.1 overs)287
Fall of wickets:
1-0 (James), 2-6 (IJ Thomas), 3-39 (Powell), 4-74 (Maynard), 5-172 (Croft), 6-189 (Dale), 7-192 (Wallace), 8-281 (SD Thomas), 9-281 (Cosker), 10-287 (Jones)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Malcolm23   19851-
Dakin19   18331-
Wells4   1140-1
Maddy5   3130--
Shahid Afridi20   8520--

--> Leicestershire score at 130 overs in the first innings was 567-6
--> IJ Sutcliffe (1) passed his previous highest score of 167 in first-class matches
--> IJ Sutcliffe (1) passed his previous highest score of 167 in County Championship matches
--> Shahid Afridi made his debut in County Championship matches
--> RDB Croft (1) passed 7000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 23
--> SD Thomas (2) passed 2500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 24
--> Shahid Afridi made his debut for Leicestershire in first-class matches
--> DE Malcolm reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when he dismissed MJ Powell, his 2nd wicket in the Glamorgan second innings
--> DE Malcolm reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches for the season when he dismissed MJ Powell, his 2nd wicket in the Glamorgan second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2016 CricketArchive