Lancashire v Leicestershire
CricInfo Championship 2001 (Division 1)
VenueOld Trafford, Manchester on 6th, 7th, 8th, 9th June 2001 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossLeicestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultLancashire won by 6 wickets
PointsLancashire 17 (Batting 2, Bowling 3); Leicestershire 4 (Batting 1, Bowling 3)
UmpiresVA Holder, G Sharp
ScorerGA York (Leicestershire)
Close of play day 1Leicestershire (1) 83/3 (Smith 31*, Maddy 11*; 40.1 overs)
Close of play day 2Lancashire (1) 191/5 (Fairbrother 70*, Hegg 9*; 53 overs)
Close of play day 3Leicestershire (2) 208/6 (Maddy 32*, Dakin 31*; 75 overs)

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
TR Wardb Martin31916-- 
IJ Sutcliffec Atherton b Chapple11422-- 
BF Smithb Martin351053104- 
DJ Marshc Chilton b Chapple2849464- 
DL Maddynot out5718137241 
*VJ Wellsc Hegg b Chapple1214262- 
+ND Burnsc Crawley b Flintoff2529294- 
JM Dakinc Chapple b Muralitharan122529-1 
CD Crowelbw b Flintoff012-- 
J Ormondlbw b Flintoff4661- 
DE Malcolmc Chilton b Martin47121- 
Extras(2 b, 5 lb, 14 nb)21
Total(all out, 73.5 overs)202
Fall of wickets:
1-8 (Ward), 2-8 (Sutcliffe), 3-47 (Marsh), 4-91 (Smith), 5-110 (Wells), 6-150 (Burns), 7-174 (Dakin), 8-175 (Crowe), 9-189 (Ormond), 10-202 (Malcolm)
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Chapple18   2493-2
Muralitharan22   2751-2
Flintoff13   1363-2
Keedy3   130--

Lancashire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MA Athertonb Malcolm4883847- 
MJ Chiltonlbw b Ormond83654-- 
*JP Crawleyb Ormond013-- 
A Flintoffb Ormond068-- 
NH Fairbrotherb Dakin101162202131 
JC Scuderic Dakin b Marsh4669867- 
+WK Heggc Maddy b Dakin51851148- 
G Chapplec Smith b Dakin815171- 
PJ Martinc Wells b Dakin813171- 
G Keedynot out624271- 
M Muralitharanc Maddy b Marsh1711-- 
Extras(7 lb, 2 nb, 6 w)15
Total(all out, 83.2 overs)292
Fall of wickets:
1-43 (Chilton), 2-51 (Crawley), 3-53 (Flintoff), 4-68 (Atherton), 5-179 (Scuderi), 6-264 (Fairbrother), 7-269 (Hegg), 8-278 (Chapple), 9-289 (Martin), 10-292 (Muralitharan)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Ormond27   767321
Malcolm13   17611-
Wells4   0190--
Dakin16   2534--
Maddy2   0160--
Crowe2   0170--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
TR Wardb Muralitharan1137442- 
IJ Sutcliffelbw b Muralitharan2491992- 
BF Smithlbw b Muralitharan331011063- 
DJ Marshc Flintoff b Martin3848535- 
DL Maddyc Atherton b Muralitharan401351514- 
*VJ Wellslbw b Martin51819-- 
+ND Burnsc Hegg b Martin22540-- 
JM Dakinb Martin3543428- 
CD Crowec Atherton b Muralitharan21314-- 
J Ormondb Muralitharan2036353- 
DE Malcolmnot out411151- 
Extras(4 b, 9 lb, 24 nb)37
Total(all out, 91 overs)251
Fall of wickets:
1-31 (Ward), 2-61 (Sutcliffe), 3-126 (Smith), 4-130 (Marsh), 5-140 (Wells), 6-156 (Burns), 7-212 (Dakin), 8-221 (Crowe), 9-232 (Maddy), 10-251 (Ormond)
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Martin27   9644-1
Chapple5   1170--
Muralitharan40   17746-5
Flintoff8   1450-6
Keedy11   1380--

Lancashire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MA Athertonc Burns b Marsh39548351 
MJ Chiltonb Ormond1336421- 
*JP Crawleyc Burns b Marsh50781006- 
A Flintoffc and b Crowe43574942 
NH Fairbrothernot out915161- 
JC Scuderinot out4137-- 
+WK Heggdid not bat      
G Chappledid not bat      
PJ Martindid not bat      
G Keedydid not bat      
M Muralitharandid not bat      
Extras(3 b, 1 lb, 2 w)6
Total(4 wickets, 42.1 overs)164
Fall of wickets:
1-37 (Chilton), 2-81 (Atherton), 3-146 (Flintoff), 4-154 (Crawley)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Ormond7   2281--
Malcolm11   2390--
Marsh15   16621-
Dakin4   260--

--> ND Burns (1) passed 6000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 24
--> MJ Chilton (1) passed 1500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 4
--> MA Atherton (2) passed 21500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 33
--> JM Dakin reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches when he dismissed G Chapple, his 3rd wicket in the Lancashire first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive