Sussex v Leicestershire
County Championship 1909
VenueCounty Ground, Hove on 5th, 6th, 7th July 1909 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSussex won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresGP Harrison, W Richards
Close of play day 1Leicestershire (1) 151/2 (King 55*, Astill 4*)
Close of play day 2Leicestershire (1) 285 all out

Sussex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RR Relflbw b Jayes2     
J Vinelbw b Jayes13     
EH Killickb Jayes14     
AE Relfc Whitehead b King12     
RB Heygatec King b Shipman25     
P Cartwrightc Shields b Astill33     
GR Coxc Hazlerigg b Jayes13     
G Leachb Shipman1     
*CLA Smithc King b Jayes17     
JH Vincettb Jayes7     
+HR Buttnot out5     
Extras(2 b, 1 lb, 4 nb, 1 w)8
Total(all out, 46.1 overs)150
Fall of wickets:
1-9, 2-23, 3-40, 4-49, 5-93, 6-107, 7-108, 8-137, 9-138, 10-150 (46.1 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
King14   340111
Shipman7   1182-2
Astill9   1291--

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CJB Woodb Vincett64     
AE Knightc Butt b Cox27     
JH Kingc Butt b Killick66     
WE Astillc Butt b Leach4     
H Whiteheadnot out57     
S Coec Butt b Leach0     
VFS Crawfordc Butt b AE Relf35     
T Jayesb AE Relf0     
*AG Hazleriggc AE Relf b Leach20     
W Shipmanc Butt b Leach0     
+J Shieldsb AE Relf0     
Extras(8 lb, 4 nb)12
Total(all out, 134.2 overs)285
Fall of wickets:
1-57, 2-137, 3-152, 4-170, 5-173, 6-229, 7-229, 8-274, 9-274, 10-285 (134.2 ov)
Sussex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Leach34   6934-4
AE Relf34.213623--
Vine27   10320--
Cox10   3151--
Killick18   3441--
Vincett11   1271--

--> There was no play on the final day.
--> JH King (1) passed 12500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 38
--> G Leach reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches for the season when taking his 3rd wicket in the Leicestershire first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive