Derbyshire v Worcestershire
Britannic Assurance County Championship 1998
VenueCounty Ground, Derby on 14th, 15th, 16th August 1998 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossWorcestershire won the toss and decided to field
ResultDerbyshire won by 28 runs
PointsDerbyshire 22 (Batting 2, Bowling 4); Worcestershire 4 (Bowling 4)
UmpiresR Julian, NT Plews
Close of play day 1Derbyshire (1) 280 all out
Close of play day 2Worcestershire (2) 53/3 (Solanki 11*, Moody 10*; 14 overs)

Derbyshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MJ Slaterc Rhodes b Newport23     
MR Maylbw b Lampitt24     
RMS Westonlbw b Lampitt84     
KJ Barnettc Weston b Lampitt21     
ME Cassarc Solanki b Lampitt11     
BL Spendlovec Solanki b Moody16     
ID Blackwellc Rhodes b Lampitt0     
*+KM Krikkenc Wilson b Moody27     
PAJ DeFreitasc Weston b Chapman21     
KJ Deannot out10     
TM Smithlbw b Chapman23     
Extras(1 b, 7 lb, 12 nb)20
Total(all out, 80.4 overs)280
Fall of wickets:
1-34, 2-87, 3-157, 4-174, 5-181, 6-181, 7-212, 8-241, 9-245, 10-280 (80.4 ov)
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Newport14   5351--
Moody13   0682--
Lampitt16   7335--
Rawnsley22   7530--
Weston2   0200--

Worcestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WPC Westonlbw b DeFreitas3     
EJ Wilsonc Slater b DeFreitas0     
NE Batsonlbw b Dean5     
VS Solankic Krikken b DeFreitas9     
*TM Moodyc Krikken b Dean12     
DA Leatherdalelbw b Smith16     
+SJ Rhodesb Cassar34     
SR Lampittnot out10     
PJ Newportc DeFreitas b Smith1     
MJ Rawnsleyc Blackwell b Dean7     
RJ Chapmanlbw b Dean6     
Extras(1 b)1
Total(all out, 43.5 overs)104
Fall of wickets:
1-1, 2-4, 3-8, 4-26, 5-30, 6-66, 7-80, 8-87, 9-98, 10-104 (43.5 ov)
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
DeFreitas13   8103--
Smith9   3272--
Cassar6   2141--

Derbyshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MJ Slaterc Solanki b Newport32     
MR Mayc Rhodes b Newport21     
RMS Westonrun out (Leatherdale)0     
KJ Barnettc Rhodes b Moody0     
ME Cassarb Newport0     
ID Blackwelllbw b Moody23     
PAJ DeFreitaslbw b Moody8     
*+KM Krikkenlbw b Newport19     
BL Spendlovec Weston b Moody45     
KJ Deannot out10     
TM Smithc Solanki b Moody5     
Extras(5 lb)5
Total(all out, 38.1 overs)168
Fall of wickets:
1-54, 2-54, 3-54, 4-54, 5-57, 6-72, 7-87, 8-137, 9-158, 10-168 (38.1 ov)
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Newport17   6444--
Chapman5   0400--
Lampitt5   1150--

Worcestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WPC Westonlbw b DeFreitas7     
EJ Wilsonc Blackwell b DeFreitas12     
NE Batsonb DeFreitas3     
VS Solankic Weston b DeFreitas170     
*TM Moodylbw b Dean31     
DA Leatherdalelbw b Dean26     
+SJ Rhodesc Barnett b Dean0     
SR Lampittlbw b Dean2     
PJ Newportc May b DeFreitas31     
MJ Rawnsleylbw b Dean6     
RJ Chapmannot out0     
Extras(2 b, 10 lb, 14 nb, 2 w)28
Total(all out, 70.1 overs)316
Fall of wickets:
1-19, 2-24, 3-29, 4-112, 5-212, 6-218, 7-226, 8-305, 9-316, 10-316 (70.1 ov)
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Dean25   5905--
Smith13   3580--
Cassar5   0400--
Blackwell6   1210--

--> The match was scheduled for four days but completed in three.
--> Day 3 Lunch: Worcestershire (2) ?/? (Solanki 119*, [unknown] ?*)
--> RMS Weston (1) passed 500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 72
--> BL Spendlove (2) equalled his previous highest score of 45 in first-class matches
--> BL Spendlove (2) equalled his previous highest score of 45 in County Championship matches
--> VS Solanki (2) passed his previous highest score of 155 in first-class matches
--> VS Solanki (2) passed his previous highest score of 155 in County Championship matches
--> TM Moody (2) passed 20000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 29
--> TM Moody reached 100 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Derbyshire first innings
--> KJ Dean reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when taking his 3rd wicket in the Worcestershire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2016 CricketArchive