Essex v Glamorgan
Britannic Assurance County Championship 1998
VenueCounty Ground, Chelmsford on 5th, 6th, 7th, 8th August 1998 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossGlamorgan won the toss and decided to bat
ResultGlamorgan won by 216 runs
PointsEssex 6 (Batting 2, Bowling 4); Glamorgan 22 (Batting 2, Bowling 4)
UmpiresGI Burgess, JH Hampshire
Close of play day 1Essex (1) 23/1 (Robinson 10*, Hodgson 4*; 10 overs)
Close of play day 2Glamorgan (2) 20/1 (James 12*, Cosker 0*; 8 overs)
Close of play day 3Essex (2) 41/2 (Robinson 18*, Ilott 1*; 19 overs)

Glamorgan first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SP Jamesc Hyam b Williams11     
WL Lawb Such68     
*MP Maynardc Robinson b Such30     
PA Cotteyc Grayson b Such2     
RDB Croftc Flanagan b Such4     
A Dalec Hyam b Williams73     
+I Dawoodc Flanagan b Williams6     
SD Thomasc Law b Williams6     
DA Coskerc Hodgson b Law7     
OT Parkinnot out24     
AP Daviesc Williams b Such34     
Extras(2 b, 9 lb, 8 nb, 4 w)23
Total(all out, 91.2 overs)288
Fall of wickets:
1-21, 2-106, 3-172, 4-174, 5-200, 6-202, 7-211, 8-214, 9-230, 10-288 (91.2 ov)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Ilott10   2300--
Williams13   3424--
Irani15   2590--
Law14   3361--

Essex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
DDJ Robinsonlbw b Parkin14     
IN Flanaganlbw b Parkin5     
TP Hodgsonc James b Cosker35     
RC Iranic Cosker b Croft51     
*AP Graysonc and b Cosker59     
SD Petersc Cottey b Davies20     
DR Lawc Croft b Davies0     
+BJ Hyamc Dawood b Thomas15     
MC Ilottc Thomas b Cosker22     
NF Williamsc Parkin b Thomas13     
PM Suchnot out2     
Extras(11 b, 7 lb, 2 nb, 4 w)24
Total(all out, 111.5 overs)260
Fall of wickets:
1-7, 2-34, 3-114, 4-126, 5-164, 6-164, 7-204, 8-241, 9-244, 10-260 (111.5 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Parkin15   4292--
Croft34   8841--
Davies12   6252--
Cosker37   13603--

Glamorgan second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SP Jamesb Grayson147     
WL Lawc Hyam b Williams8     
DA Coskerb Grayson37     
A Dalec Hodgson b Williams82     
*MP Maynardc Flanagan b Grayson29     
PA Cotteynot out38     
+I Dawoodnot out9     
RDB Croftdid not bat      
SD Thomasdid not bat      
AP Daviesdid not bat      
OT Parkindid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 3 lb, 9 nb, 8 w)21
Total(5 wickets, declared, 91 overs)371
Fall of wickets:
1-13, 2-121, 3-290, 4-294, 5-341
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Williams17   0772--
Irani19   1740--
Such25   1900--
Ilott9   2280--
Grayson16   0693--
Law5   0290--

Essex second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
DDJ Robinsonc Dale b Davies24     
IN Flanaganc Dawood b Parkin0     
TP Hodgsonc Maynard b Thomas17     
MC Ilottb Dale13     
RC Iranic sub b Cosker31     
*AP Graysonc Maynard b Croft3     
SD Petersc Maynard b Cosker47     
DR Lawlbw b Dale0     
+BJ Hyamc Croft b Thomas11     
NF Williamslbw b Davies25     
PM Suchnot out3     
Extras(2 b, 3 lb, 2 nb, 2 w)9
Total(all out, 91.4 overs)183
Fall of wickets:
1-1, 2-38, 3-49, 4-91, 5-96, 6-97, 7-97, 8-112, 9-167, 10-183 (91.4 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Parkin10   4271--
Davies12   4282--
Thomas18   9382--
Croft23   7371--
Dale9   3172--

--> OT Parkin (1) passed his previous highest score of 14 in County Championship matches
--> OT Parkin (1) passed his previous highest score of 14 in first-class matches
--> AP Davies (1) passed his previous highest score of 11 in first-class matches
--> AP Davies (1) passed his previous highest score of 11 in County Championship matches
--> SP James (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 4
--> SP James (2) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 14
--> DA Cosker (2) passed his previous highest score of 24 in County Championship matches
--> DA Cosker (2) passed his previous highest score of 24 in first-class matches
--> SD Thomas reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when taking his 2nd wicket in the Essex second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive