Northamptonshire v Glamorgan
Britannic Assurance County Championship 1998
VenueCounty Ground, Northampton on 21st, 22nd, 23rd, 24th May 1998 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossGlamorgan won the toss and decided to field
ResultMatch drawn
PointsNorthamptonshire 6 (Bowling 3); Glamorgan 11 (Batting 4, Bowling 4)
UmpiresNGC Cowley, B Leadbeater
Close of play day 1Glamorgan (1) 204/2 (James 123*, Powell 7*; 46 overs)
Close of play day 2Glamorgan (1) 563 all out
Close of play day 3Northamptonshire (2) 411/4 (Loye 201*, Ripley 14*; 98 overs)

Northamptonshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RR Montgomeriec Shaw b Watkin1     
AJ Swannc Powell b Waqar Younis5     
MB Loyelbw b Thomas29     
RJ Baileyc Cosker b Waqar Younis4     
DJG Salesc Evans b Thomas0     
*KM Curranc James b Dale54     
+D Ripleyb Watkin59     
GP Swannlbw b Butcher4     
JP Taylorb Watkin0     
FA Rosenot out3     
DE Malcolmb Butcher2     
Extras(5 lb, 2 nb, 4 w)11
Total(all out, 51.2 overs)172
Fall of wickets:
1-1, 2-9, 3-21, 4-29, 5-45, 6-135, 7-165, 8-165, 9-169, 10-172 (51.2 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Waqar Younis12   1542--
Watkin15   5303--
Thomas7   0272--
Dale9   2251--
Cosker1   090--

Glamorgan first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SP Jamesc Ripley b GP Swann227     
AW Evansb Malcolm10     
A Daleb Malcolm45     
MJ Powellc GP Swann b Sales106     
*PA Cotteyc Curran b Taylor113     
GP Butcherc Ripley b Rose1     
+AD Shawc AJ Swann b Malcolm0     
Waqar Younisc Taylor b Rose2     
SD Thomasb Taylor17     
DA Coskerc Ripley b Taylor3     
SL Watkinnot out1     
Extras(6 b, 16 lb, 14 nb, 2 w)38
Total(all out, 123.5 overs)563
Fall of wickets:
1-25, 2-169, 3-355, 4-447, 5-454, 6-469, 7-478, 8-524, 9-544, 10-563 (123.5 ov)
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Malcolm28   31443--
Rose28   31302--
Curran5   3240--
GP Swann24   3981--
Bailey1   100--
Sales9   2281--
AJ Swann3   0120--

Northamptonshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RR Montgomerielbw b Watkin2     
AJ Swannlbw b Waqar Younis2     
MB Loyenot out32253464849- 
DJG Salesc Evans b Watkin22     
*KM Curranlbw b Waqar Younis21     
+D Ripleyc Waqar Younis b Cottey209     
GP Swannc Cosker b Thomas17     
JP Taylorc James b Waqar Younis0     
FA Rosec and b Thomas10     
RJ Baileyc Shaw b Dale32     
DE Malcolmc Dale b Thomas42     
Extras(12 b, 5 lb, 10 nb, 6 w)33
Total(all out, 173.5 overs)712
Fall of wickets:
1-5, 2-15, 3-72, 4-142, 5-543, 6-562, 7-565, 8-584, 9-663, 10-712 (173.5 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Waqar Younis35   21473--
Watkin34   51312--
Butcher17   1790--
Cosker39   121070--
Dale11   0631--
Cottey6   2141--

Glamorgan second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SP Jamesnot out10     
AW Evansnot out25     
A Daledid not bat      
MJ Powelldid not bat      
*PA Cotteydid not bat      
GP Butcherdid not bat      
+AD Shawdid not bat      
Waqar Younisdid not bat      
SD Thomasdid not bat      
DA Coskerdid not bat      
SL Watkindid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 1 lb, 4 nb)9
Total(no wicket, 7 overs)44
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Rose4   1150--
Taylor2   0200--
AJ Swann1   040--

--> Glamorgan score at 120 overs in the first innings was 541-8
--> SP James (1) passed 11000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 107
--> MJ Powell (1) passed his previous highest score of 41 in County Championship matches
--> MJ Powell (1) made his first century in County Championship matches
--> MB Loye (2) passed his previous highest score of 205 in first-class matches
--> MB Loye (2) passed his previous highest score of 205 in County Championship matches
--> MB Loye (2) passed 4500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 241
--> D Ripley (2) passed his previous highest score of 134 in first-class matches
--> D Ripley (2) passed his previous highest score of 134 in County Championship matches
--> D Ripley (2) passed 6500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 157
--> FA Rose (2) equalled his previous highest score of 10 in County Championship matches





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2016 CricketArchive