Yorkshire v Worcestershire
Britannic Assurance County Championship 1997
VenueHeadingley, Leeds on 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th September 1997 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossYorkshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultYorkshire won by 66 runs
PointsYorkshire 22 (Batting 4, Bowling 2); Worcestershire 5 (Batting 3, Bowling 2)
UmpiresJC Balderstone, A Clarkson
ScorersJT Potter (Yorkshire), JW Sewter (Worcestershire)
Close of play day 1Yorkshire (1) 369/5 (White 74*, Blakey 14*)
Close of play day 2Yorkshire (1) 414/6 (White 110*, Hamilton 1*)
Close of play day 3Worcestershire (1) 313/6 (Rhodes 46*, Lampitt 12*)

Yorkshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
A McGrathb Illingworth141     
MP Vaughanc Hick b Mirza14     
*D Byasb Illingworth53     
DS Lehmannc Moody b Haynes51     
C Whitenot out172     
B Parkerrun out2     
+RJ Blakeyc Rhodes b Sheriyar19     
GM Hamiltonlbw b Illingworth5     
CEW Silverwoodnot out19     
RD Stempdid not bat      
PM Hutchisondid not bat      
Extras(15 lb, 10 nb)25
Total(7 wickets, declared, 132.4 overs)501
Fall of wickets:
1-42, 2-158, 3-243, 4-301, 5-323, 6-379, 7-422
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Mirza16   3561--
Lampitt19   5580--
Haynes21   3811--
Illingworth39   131183--
Moody4   0210--
Hick5   1260--

Worcestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*TM Moodyc Blakey b Hutchison7     
WPC Westonrun out48     
GA Hickc Vaughan b Hamilton57     
KR Spiringb Hamilton11     
GR Haynesst Blakey b Stemp62     
DA Leatherdalec Parker b Stemp32     
+SJ Rhodesnot out46     
SR Lampittnot out12     
RK Illingworthdid not bat      
A Sheriyardid not bat      
MM Mirzadid not bat      
Extras(8 b, 4 lb, 26 nb)38
Total(6 wickets, declared, 92 overs)313
Fall of wickets:
1-19, 2-110, 3-132, 4-137, 5-231, 6-244
Yorkshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Silverwood16   3500--
Hutchison9   3311--
Hamilton15   3502--
White17   2550--
Stemp25   6742--
Vaughan8   0330--
Lehmann2   080--

Yorkshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
A McGrathc Leatherdale b Sheriyar12     
MP Vaughanc Lampitt b Sheriyar3     
*D Byasnot out35     
DS Lehmannc Spiring b Lampitt20     
C Whiteb Sheriyar4     
B Parkernot out8     
+RJ Blakeydid not bat      
GM Hamiltondid not bat      
RD Stempdid not bat      
CEW Silverwooddid not bat      
PM Hutchisondid not bat      
Extras(1 lb)1
Total(4 wickets, declared, 10.1 overs)83
Fall of wickets:
1-9, 2-20, 3-58, 4-67
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Lampitt5   0421--

Worcestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+SJ Rhodesb Hutchison6     
WPC Westonc Vaughan b Silverwood4     
GA Hickc Blakey b Silverwood4     
KR Spiringlbw b Hutchison10     
*TM Moodyc Stemp b Hutchison67     
GR Haynesb White27     
DA Leatherdalelbw b Silverwood20     
SR Lampittc Parker b White12     
RK Illingworthnot out33     
A Sheriyarc Stemp b Hamilton12     
MM Mirzac Hutchison b Hamilton0     
Extras(1 b, 3 lb, 6 nb)10
Total(all out, 59.5 overs)205
Fall of wickets:
1-11, 2-11, 3-20, 4-26, 5-87, 6-142, 7-150, 8-174, 9-204, 10-205 (59.5 ov)
Yorkshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Silverwood17   4613--
Hutchison12   1383--
White13   5362--
Stemp9   1390--

--> Yorkshire score at 120 overs in the first innings was 406-6
--> MM Mirza made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> MM Mirza made his last appearance in County Championship matches
--> A McGrath (1) passed his previous highest score of 137 in first-class matches
--> A McGrath (1) passed his previous highest score of 137 in County Championship matches
--> C White (1) passed 5500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 123
--> D Byas (2) passed 11000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 5
--> A Sheriyar reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when taking his 1st wicket in the Yorkshire first innings
--> A Sheriyar reached 100 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Yorkshire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive