Leicestershire v Lancashire
Britannic Assurance County Championship 1997
VenueGrace Road, Leicester on 29th, 30th, 31st May, 2nd June 1997 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossLancashire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsLeicestershire 11 (Batting 4, Bowling 4); Lancashire 10 (Batting 4, Bowling 3)
UmpiresB Leadbeater, R Palmer
ScorerGA York (Leicestershire)
Close of play day 1Lancashire (1) 365/9 (Chapple 57*, Keedy 0*)
Close of play day 2Leicestershire (1) 380/5 (Johnson 134*, Nixon 68*)
Close of play day 3Lancashire (2) 279/2 (Atherton 100*)

Lancashire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JER Gallianc Johnson b Millns12      
*MA Athertonb Mullally24      
JP Crawleyc Nixon b Johnson41      
NH Fairbrotherc Whitaker b Johnson35      
GD Lloydst Nixon b Pierson82      
ID Austinc Johnson b Mullally9      
G Yatesc Wells b Mullally0      
+WK Heggb Parsons58      
PJ Martinc Nixon b Mullally4      
G Chapplec Smith b Mullally63      
G Keedynot out0      
Extras(6 b, 5 lb, 32 nb, 2 w)45
Total(all out, 107.3 overs)373
Fall of wickets:
1-12, 2-83, 3-111, 4-158, 5-179, 6-179, 7-246, 8-264, 9-349, 10-373 (107.3 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Millns19   2751--
Parsons24   4761--
Pierson18   4341--
Johnson16   0762--
Wells6   0220--

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
VJ Wellsc Fairbrother b Gallian95      
DL Maddyc Lloyd b Chapple0      
BF Smithlbw b Austin31      
*JJ Whitakerlbw b Yates6      
NC Johnsonlbw b Austin150      
A Habibb Martin38      
+PA Nixonlbw b Gallian96      
DJ Millnsb Chapple11      
GJ Parsonsc Atherton b Gallian16      
ARK Piersonb Chapple12      
AD Mullallynot out1      
Extras(6 lb, 6 w)12
Total(all out, 125.1 overs)468
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-57, 3-97, 4-170, 5-215, 6-414, 7-437, 8-437, 9-462, 10-468 (125.1 ov)
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Martin23   6841--
Chapple20   4793--
Austin23   7652--
Yates28   5931--
Keedy17   2900--

Lancashire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JER Gallianlbw b Parsons99      
*MA Athertonc Maddy b Pierson108      
JP Crawleylbw b Parsons61      
NH Fairbrotherc Whitaker b Pierson20      
GD Lloydnot out100      
ID Austinst Nixon b Pierson5      
+WK Heggnot out8      
G Yatesdid not bat      
PJ Martindid not bat      
G Chappledid not bat      
G Keedydid not bat      
Extras(12 lb, 12 nb)24
Total(5 wickets, declared, 104.3 overs)425
Fall of wickets:
1-169, 2-279, 3-293, 4-342, 5-381
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Millns8   3320--
Mullally8   3260--
Parsons33   41252--
Wells3   0170--
Johnson8   0250--
Maddy5   0290--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
VJ Wellsb Yates107      
DL Maddyc Fairbrother b Keedy11      
BF Smithst Hegg b Keedy34      
NC Johnsonc Lloyd b Yates29      
*JJ Whitakerc Austin b Keedy20      
A Habibnot out21      
+PA Nixonnot out10      
DJ Millnsdid not bat      
GJ Parsonsdid not bat      
ARK Piersondid not bat      
AD Mullallydid not bat      
Extras(8 b, 7 lb)15
Total(5 wickets, 68 overs)247
Fall of wickets:
1-44, 2-135, 3-181, 4-202, 5-217
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Martin9   3340--
Austin6   2150--
Yates21   4922--
Keedy26   7663--
Chapple4   0150--
Gallian2   0100--

--> Day 4 Lunch: Lancashire (2) ?/? (Lloyd 100*, [unknown] ?*)
--> Leicestershire score at 120 overs in the first innings was 448-8
--> NH Fairbrother (1) passed 16500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 32
--> NC Johnson (1) passed his previous highest score of 87 in County Championship matches
--> NC Johnson (1) made his first century in County Championship matches
--> NC Johnson (1) passed his previous highest score of 136 in first-class matches
--> MA Atherton (2) passed 16000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 20
--> GD Lloyd (2) 100 in 73 balls
--> G Chapple reached 200 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Leicestershire first innings

Lloyd's century was the fastest of the season and won him the Walter Lawrence Trophy.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive